History and Traditions Committee

Mark Eisner


The History and Traditions Committee encourages and facilitates the collection and preservation of materials relating to the history and traditions of OR/MS. Relevant materials include documents, audio, and video recordings, and other artifacts relating to the ORMS field, its founders, leaders, and notable activities. It encourages the creation and dissemination of new historical materials through articles in society publications, books, symposia, sessions at national meetings, electronic media, and other means, in order to summarize, interpret, and carry forward the history and traditions of ORMS.

2016 Membership

Mark H. Eisner, Chair, 10/2013 - 12/31/2016
Arjang Assad, 01/01/2013 - 12/31/2018
Arthur G. Geoffrion, 01/01/2013 - 12/31/16
John D. C. Little, 01/01/2013 - 12/31/2016
Irv Lustig, 10/2013 - 12/31/2015

Anna Nagurney 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018
Will Thomas, 10/2013 - 12/31/2017
Shaler Stidham, Jr, 10/2013 - 12/31/2017

Staff Liaison: Executive Director (Melissa Moore), Dir. Membership, Subdivisions & Int'l Activities (Mary Magrogan)
Board Liaison: L. Robin Keller, Past President  

For further information on this committee, please see Section 11 of the Policy & Procedures Manual.

Current activities

The committee has undertaken a multiyear project to collect historical materials about operations research and management science.  The History and Traditions web site will be enhanced to assist in accessing these materials directly or via links or guidance to external locations.  Watch for changes to the History and Traditions web site in 2014 and beyond. 

Related Links

Follow the work of the committee on the History and Traditions Web Site

George B. Dantzig

George Dantzig was a pioneer innovator of theoretical and applied mathematical methods that were key to the development and efficacy of the then new field of operations research. This web site salutes him and his work.

George B. Dantzig Memorial Site

History and Traditions Web Page