INFORMS Impact Prize

Congratulations to the 2012 Winners of the INFORMS Impact Prize:

  • Johannes J. Bisschop
  • Kevin Cunningham
  • Robert Fourer
  • David M. Gay
  • Brian W. Kernighan
  • Bjarni Kristjansson
  • Alexander Meeraus
  • Linus Schrage

The awardees are the primary originators of the five most important algebraic modeling languages: AIMMS (Bisschop), AMPL (Fourer, Gay, and Kerninghan), GAMS (Bisschop and Meeraus), LINDO/LINGO (Cunningham and Schrage), and MPL (Kristjansson). These five have been incorporated in general-purpose systems of large technical software companies, spreadsheet programs, mathematical modeling systems, and object-oriented programming languages.