Optimization Society

Optimization Society Prizes

All winners of the 2016 INFORMS Optimization Society prizes. From left: Sven Leyffer, Gonzalo Muñoz, Aharon Ben-Tal, Parikshit Shah, Hamza Fawzi, and Venkat Chandrasekaran.

The INFORMS Optimization Society awards four prizes annually at the INFORMS annual meeting. Each of the four awards includes a cash amount of US$ 1,000 and a citation certificate. The award winners will be invited to give a presentation in a special session sponsored by the Optimization Society during the INFORMS annual meeting in Nashville, TN, in November 2016 (the winners will be responsible for their own travel expenses to the meeting).  Award winners are also asked to contribute an article about their award-winning work to the annual Optimization Society newsletter.  The four awards are listed below with links to more information about them. 

  • The Khachiyan Prize, for outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of optimization by an individual or team;
  • The Farkas Prize, for outstanding contributions by a mid-career researcher to the field of optimization, over the course of their career;
  • Prize for Young Researchers, awarded to one or more young researcher(s) for an outstanding paper in optimization that is submitted to and accepted, or published in a refereed professional journal;
  • Student Paper Prize, awarded to one or more student(s) for an outstanding paper in optimization that is submitted to and received or published in a refereed professional journal within three calendar years preceding the year of the award

Follow Optimization Society:


Key Contacts

Chair: David Morton (david.morton@northwestern.edu)

Web editor: Pietro Belotti (pietrobelotti@fico.com)

mulitsite promo area

Meetings & Conferences

Featured Jobs