Public Programs, Service & Needs


SPPSN Best Paper award


2013 Best Paper Award Winners

The winners of the third SPPSN best paper competition were announced at the SPPSN business meeting at the 2013 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Minneapolis.

The judging committee included:

  • Jérémie Gallien, London Business School, chair
  • Julie Swann, Georgia Tech, chair
  • Atalay Atasu, Georgia Tech
  • Jonathan Helm, Indiana University
  • Natalie Privett, NYU

There were thirteen entrants, five invitations to the final round, and four finalists selected. The awardees were:

First Place

Peng Shi and Itai Ashlagi, "Optimal Allocation of Public Services Without Monetary Transfers or Costly Signals"

Second Place 

Edieal Pinker and Tolga Tezcan, "Determining the Optimal Configuration of Hospital Inpatient Rooms in the Presence of Isolation Patients

Honorable Mention

Armagan Bayram and Senay Solak, "Offer or No Offer: Managing Foreclosed Housing Acquisitions in Societal Response to Foreclosures"

Weihong Hu, Mariel Lavieri, Alejandro Toriello, and Xiang Liu, "Strategic Health Workforce Planning"

Previous Winners of the SPPSN Best Paper Award

Winners and finalists for this award in past years can be found on the previous winners page.

Key Contacts

General Inquiries
Laura McLay, President 

Conferences, clusters, and sessions
Robert Hampshire, Senior Vice President of Programs

Erica Gralla, Vice President of Communications

Follow us on twitter


mulitsite promo area

Featured Jobs