Public Sector OR

PSOR Best Paper Award

2014 Best Paper Award Winners

The winners of the fourth PSOR best paper competition were announced at the PSOR business meeting at the 2014 INFORMS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

The judging committee included:

  • Itai Ishlagi, MIT Sloan (chair)
  • Jason Acimovic, Penn State University
  • Benjamin Armbruster, Northwestern University
  • Hugh Medal, Mississippi State University
  • Shan Liu, University of Washington

The awardees were:

First Place

Monica Gentili, Nicoleta Serban and Julie L. Swann, "What are the areas in need for improving spatial access to pediatric primary care?"

Second Place 

Alex F. Mills, Jonathan E. Helm and Yu Wang, "SURGE: Smoothing usage of resource is good for emergencies"

Honorable Mention

Yan Deng, Siqian Shen and Brian Denton, "Chance-Constrained Surgery Planning under Uncertain or Ambiguous Surgery Durations"


Hasan Manzour and Suleyman Karabuk, "Evacuation management under hazardous convective weather events"

Previous Winners of the PSOR Best Paper Award

Winners and finalists for this award in past years can be found on the previous winners page.

Key Contacts

General Inquiries
Dionne Aleman, President

Conferences, clusters, and sessions
Burcu Balcik, Senior Vice President of Programs

Marie-Eve Rancourt, Vice President of Communications

Follow us on twitter


mulitsite promo area

Meetings & Conferences

Featured Jobs