Railway Applications Section

Problem Repository

Problem Repository

This effort is targeted at increasing awareness about difficult railroad problems for the OR community, so that railroad industry can benefit from increased research activity. Complete details of the repository, processes and first problem were presented at the RAS business meeting in Charlotte in 2011.

The objective of this problem repository is to facilitate a platform where:

  1. Reallife railroad application problems are presented along with dataset(s) and solutions publicly available for anyone to research, develop and test solution approaches.
  2. Researchers may showcase their results, engage in questions, answers and discussions and measure the performance of different solution approaches.

All information that is available on RAS website is public. Neither RAS, nor the company/entity (who provided the problem/data to the repository) may claim intellectual property rights on the outcome of the research by someone who used the data/problem description. RAS is open to suggestions - please contact any of the officers if you have any suggestions or start a discussion on our LinkedIn page.

Problem Name Contact Information Details
Track geometry analytics

Francesco Corman

Delft University of Technology

F.Corman@tudelft.nl

Railroad Hump Yard Block-to-Track Assignment

Xiaopeng Li

Mississippi State University

xli@cee.msstate.edu

Modeling Railroad Yard Capacity

All questions and suggestions must be sent to:

Sandra D. Eksioglu

Clemson University

seksiog@clemson.edu

Train Design Optimization Problem

Jagadish Jampani

CSX Transportation, Inc.

Jagadish_Jampani@csx.com

Follow Railway Applications Section:

Upcoming Events and Discussions

Follow us on LinkedIn and Facebook.     

  

Key Contacts

Xuesong Zhou (xzhou74@asu.edu), Arizona State University, RAS Chair 2016

April Kuo (april.kuo@bnsf.com), BNSF, RAS Vice Chair 2016

Shantih Spanton (shantih_spanton@csx.com), CSX, RAS Secretary 2016

Gunnar Feldmann (gunnar.feldmann@nscorp.com), Norfolk Southern Corporation, RAS Treasurer 2016

Tyler Dick (ctdick@illinois.edu), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, RAS PR Officer 2016

Golnoosh Miri (gmiri@asu.edu), Arizona State University, RAS Webmaster 2016

mulitsite promo area

Meetings & Conferences