Women in OR/MS


2016 Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS

Call for Nominations

The Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS celebrates and recognizes a person who has contributed significantly to the advancement and recognition of women in the field of Operations Research and the Management Sciences (OR/MS). Each nominee will be considered based on his or her history of successfully promoting the professional development, success, and recognition of women in OR/MS. Nominees can have made contributions in multiple ways, such as primarily at their own institutions, through involvement in professional organizations, etc.

Examples of activities to be considered include, but are not limited to, the following: personal commitment and/or leadership with respect to increased hiring, retention, advancement, and recognition of women (students and faculty) in academia, industry, or government; leadership in encouraging, sponsoring, and/or developing professional training/development programs for women in OR/MS; creating an environment that supports women’s full participation and advancement in the field of OR/MS, possibly through mentoring, leadership, financial support, and/or personal investment of time.

Application process 

Nominations should include:

  • Nominee's name, affiliation, address, telephone, fax, e-mail;
  • A short (250-500 words) description of the nominee’s overall contribution to the advancement of the careers of women in OR/MS;
  • Description(s) of specific activities, programs, leadership;
  • Statements of support from women in OR/MS and/or from organizations which observed or benefited from the nominee’s activities; 
  • The nominee’s résumé and other items as appropriate.

All nominations must be submitted via e-mail to the Award Committee Chair, Margaret Brandeau (brandeau at standford dot edu), by July 31, 2016.

Past Winners of the Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS:

2015 Award Winner Prof. Margaret Brandeau    
Prof. Margaret Brandeau
2014 Award Winner Prof. Adela Roth    
Prof. Adela Roth

Prof. Adela Roth

2013 Award Winner Kathy Stecke     
2012 Award Winner Vicki L. Sauter    
2011 Award Winner Berna Dengiz    
2010 Award Winner Brenda Dietrich 2009 Award Winner Alice Smith  
 2008 Award Winner Candace (Candi) Yano    

 2007 Award Winner Anna Nagurney


2006 Award Winner Radhika Kularni

2005 Award Winners Cindy Barnhart and Jane Ammons


mulitsite promo area

Meetings & Conferences

Featured Jobs