History and Traditions Committee

Mark Eisner


The History and Traditions Committee encourages and facilitates the collection and preservation of materials relating to the history and traditions of OR/MS. Relevant materials include documents, audio, and video recordings, and other artifacts relating to the ORMS field, its founders, leaders, and notable activities. It encourages the creation and dissemination of new historical materials through articles in society publications, books, symposia, sessions at national meetings, electronic media, and other means, in order to summarize, interpret, and carry forward the history and traditions of ORMS.

2017 Membership

Mark J. Eisner, Chair, 10/2013 - 12/31/2017
Arjang Assad, 01/01/2013 - 12/31/2018
Anna Nagurney, 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018
Irvin Lustig, 10/2013 - 12/31/2018
G. William Thomas, 10/2013 - 12/31/2017
Shaler Stidham, Jr, 10/2013 - 12/31/2017
Vicki Sauter, January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2019
Linus Schrage, January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2019

Staff Liaison: Executive Director (Melissa Moore), Dir. Membership, Subdivisions & Int'l Activities (Mary Magrogan)
Board Liaison: L. Robin Keller, Past President  

For further information on this committee, please see Section 11 of the Policy & Procedures Manual.

Current activities

The committee has undertaken a multi year project to collect historical materials about operations research and management science.  The History and Traditions website is being continuously updated to assist in accessing these materials directly or via links or guidance to external locations.  Watch for changes to the History and Traditions website in 2016 and beyond.