INFORMS News: Call for nominations - Lifetime Professional Achievement Award

By Averill M. Law

The Lifetime Professional Achievement Award (LPAA) of the INFORMS Simulation Society is the highest honor given by the Society. The purpose of this award is to recognize major contributions to the field of simulation that are sustained over a professional career, with the critical consideration being the total impact of those contributions on computer simulation. Past recipients include: George Fishman, Jack Kleijnen, Averill Law, Richard Nance, Alan Pritsker, Julian Reitman, Reuven Rubinstein, Robert Sargent and Thomas Schriber.

An individual’s contributions may fall in one or more of the following areas: research, practice, dissemination of knowledge, development of hardware or software, service to the simulation profession, and advancement of the status or visibility of the field.

A nominee is not expected to demonstrate contributions in each area. A full description of the award rules can be found at The award consists of a plaque and reasonable travel expenses incurred by the recipient when attending the presentation ceremony. If given, the award will be presented in December during the opening session of the Winter Simulation Conference. An individual selected for this award should be in or near their retirement; the award may also be given posthumously. Nominations may be submitted in the form of PDF files by anyone (including self-nominations), but they may not be made anonymously. The burden of offering evidence of merit falls on the nominator. Each nomination should include:

  • the nominee’s complete resume;
  • a clear-cut, comprehensive description of the nominee’s major contributions to the profession, with complete supporting documentation; and
  • at least three letters of endorsement providing evidence of the significance and magnitude of the nominee’s professional achievements

Nominations for the award must be received by the chair of the LPAA Selection Committee by Sept. 1, 2011. Send complete nominations, including all supporting letters and documentation (if possible in the form of PDF files attached to a single e-mail), to the committee chair. The LPAA Selection Committee consists of: Averill M. Law ( (chair), Enver Yücesan and Reuven Rubinstein.