INFORMS News: INFORMS Fellows Class of 2011

The following 10 individuals comprise the INFORMS Fellows Class of 2011:

Kurt M. Anstreicher, University of Iowa, for outstanding theoretical and computational research contributions in optimization, as well as for leadership in, and editorial responsibilities for, the Mathematical Programming Society.

Cynthia Barnhart, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for the development of novel integer programming models and solution techniques for a broad range of problems in air transportation.

David Bell, Harvard University, for theoretical and practical contributions to decision analysis, especially involving the relationships between individuals’ basic preferences and models of those preferences.

Oded Berman, University of Toronto, for fundamental contributions to location theory and operations management in services industries.

Izak Duenyas, University of Michigan, for scholarly excellence in stochastic modeling of production, scheduling and inventory control systems and distinguished service to the INFORMS research community.

Eugene A. Feinberg, State University of New York at Stony Brook, for his fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of operations research in the areas of Markov decision processes and dynamic programming.

Harvey J. Greenberg, University of Colorado Denver (Emeritus), for pioneering work in bridging and building the interface between operations research and the computer sciences in the mathematical, management and engineering sciences communities.

Avishai Mandelbaum, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, for his contributions to performance analysis and control of stochastic systems, particularly fluid and diffusion approximations in heavy-traffic systems, and service engineering and queuing science applied to telephone call centers.

Robin O. Roundy, Brigham Young University, for his path-breaking research in supply-chain optimization and teaching of OR/MS to students at all levels, and for his excellent service to and practice of OR/MS.

Christopher S. Tang, UCLA Anderson School, for his many theoretical and practical contributions to supply chain and production management, and for outstanding professional service.