Best Publication Award

Nomination Deadline: August 27, 2015

2013 Winner(s): Devavrat Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology ; ; Jinwoo Shin

Purpose of the Award

This award is for outstanding contributions to the field of applied probability. The award is accompanied by a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium. The Award is given once every two years.

Past Awardees

2013 Winner(s)
Devavrat Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jinwoo Shin
2011 Winner(s)
David Gamarnik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management Dmitriy Katz-Rogozhnikov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2009 First Place
Jose Blanchet, Columbia University Peter Glynn, Stanford University Jingchen Liu, Columbia University
2007 First Place
H. Chrisitian Gromoll, University of Virginia, Department of Mathematics Amber L. Puha, California State University Ruth J. Williams, University of California - San Diego
2005 First Place
Ayalvadi Ganesh, Microsoft Research Neil O'Connell, University of College Cork Damon Wischik, Royal Society Research Fellow, University College London
2004 First Place
Alexander Stolyar, Bell Laboratories / Alcatel-Lucent
2001 First Place
Edward G. Coffman, Jr., NJIT Anatolii A. Puhalskii, University of Colorado - Boulder Martin I. Reiman, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
1999 First Place
Muhammed El-Taha, University of Southern Maine, Dept. of Mathematics & Statistics Shaler Stidham, Jr., University of North Carolina
1997 First Place
Jim Dai, Georgia Institute of Technology
1995 First Place
Sean Meyn, University of Illinois Richard Tweedie, Division of Biostatistics, University of Minnesota
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


Kavita Ramanan
Division of Applied Mathematics, Brown University

David Gamarnik
MIT Sloan School of Management

Bert Zwart
CWI The Netherlands


 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.