Aviation Applications Dissertation Prize

Submission deadline: July 6, 2015

2016 - First Place
2016 First Place: Virginie Lurkin, University of Liege
Winning material: “Modeling in Air Transportation: Cargo Loading and Itinerary Choice”

Purpose of the Award

The Aviation Applications Section of INFORMS awards a prize for the best dissertation in any area related to aviation OR (air traffic management OR and airline OR). The winner will receive a plaque and an honorarium of $500. Finalists will receive an honorable mention and a certificate.

Past Awardees

2016 First Place
Virginie Lurkin, University of Liege
2016 Honorable Mention
James Jones, University of Maryland at College Park
2015 Winner(s)
Michael Bloem , Stanford University
2014 Winner(s)
Stephen Maher, University of New South Wales
2014 Honorable Mention
Clayton Tino , Georgia Institute of Technology
2013 First Place
Farshid Azadian , Wayne State University
2013 Honorable Mention
Bo Vaaben , Technical University of Denmark
2012 First Place
Marcial Lapp , University of Michigan
2011 First Place
Douglas Fearing, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011 Honorable Mention
Andrew M. Churchill, University of Maryland
2010 First Place
Poornima Balakrishna, George Mason University
2010 Honorable Mention
Niklaus Eggenberg, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
2009 First Place
Gizem Keysan, Georgia Institute of Technology
2009 Honorable Mention
Pavithra Harsha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2008 First Place
Mustafa Akan, Northwestern University
2007 First Place
Anne Mercier, ExPretio Technologies
2006 First Place
Mattias Gronkvist, Jeppesen
2005 First Place
Gregory Coldren, Coldren Choice Consulting Ltd
2004 First Place
Laurie Anne Garrow, Georgia Institute of Technology
2003 First Place
Milind Sohoni, Indian School of Business
2003 Honorable Mention
Amy Mainville Cohn, University of Michigan
Sanne Vincent de Boer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Thomas Vossen , University of Colorado - Boulder, Leeds School of Business

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2015 Committee Chair:
Dr. David Lovell
Associate Professor
University of Maryland


 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2015 Presentations

2014 Presentations

2013 Presentations

2012 Presentations

2011 Presentations

2010 Presentations

2009 Presentations