Student Paper Competition

2013 - First Place
2013 First Place: Song-Hee Kim, Columbia University
Winning material: ICU Admission Control: An Empirical Study of Capacity Allocation and its Implication on Patient Outcomes
2013 - First Place
2013 First Place: ; Xuan Wang, New York University
Winning material: Process flexibility: A distribution-free bound on the performance of k-chain

Purpose of the Award

The INFORMS Manufacturing and Service Operations Management Society (MSOM) announces the Student Paper Competition. The awards are given annually for papers judged to be the best in the field of Operations Management.

The first prize is accompanied by a $500 honorarium. The second prize is accompanied by a $300 honorarium. Prizes will be awarded at the Fall INFORMS meeting. In addition, all finalists will be awarded $100. The number of finalists will depend on the number of entries. Typically there are six finalists including the first and second place winners.

Finalists will be invited to submit abstracts of their paper for publication in Manufacturing & Service Operations Management. (Under INFORMS policy, the publication of such abstracts in no way conflicts with submission of the full manuscript for review to any INFORMS or other journal for publication.)

Past Awardees

2013 First Place
Song-Hee Kim, Columbia University
Xuan Wang, New York University
2013 Finalist
Dragos Ciocan, MIT
Nitish Jain, INSEAD
Anyan Qi, University of Michigan
John Yao, Columbia University
2012 First Place
Yina Lu, Columbia University
Soroush Saghafian, Arizona State University
2012 Finalist
Sang Won Kim, Columbia University
Buket Avci, INSEAD
Emre Nadar, Bilkent University
Bar Ifrach, Stanford University
2011 First Place
Jun Li, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
2011 Second Place
Turgay Ayer, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2011 Finalist
Robert L. Bray, Stanford University
Kenan Arifoglu, Northwestern University

Morvarid Rahmani, Anderson School of Management, UCLA
Sam Aflaki, INSEAD
2010 First Place
Srikanth Jagabathula, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2010 Second Place
Mazhar Arikan, Purdue University
2010 Finalist
Anicham Kumarasamy, Stanford University Jose Guajardo, University of Pennsylvania Sripad Devalkar, University of Michigan Sam Aflaki, INSEAD
2009 First Place
Denis Saure, University of Pittsburgh
2009 Second Place
Mehmet Begen, University of British Columbia
2009 Finalist
Onesun Yoo, UCLA
Ying Rong, Lehigh University
Biyu He, Stanford University
Ali Ekici, Georgia Institute of Technology
2008 First Place
Jagpreet Chhatwal, Merck Research Laboratories
2008 Second Place
Guoming Lai, Carnegie Mellon University
2007 First Place
Tong Wang, INSEAD
2007 Second Place
Soo-Haeng Cho, Carnegie Mellon University
2007 Honorable Mention
Gongtao (Lucy) Chen, National University of Singapore
Richard Lai, Harvard Business School
Pamela Pen-Erh Pei, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shanshan Hu, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
2006 First Place
Itai Gurvich, Columbia Business School
2006 Second Place
Vivek Farias, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sarang Deo, UCLA -- Anderson School of Management
2006 Honorable Mention
Ozgun Caliskan Demirag, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sang-Hyun Kim, University of Pennsylvania
Chris P. Lee, University of Pennsylvania
2005 First Place
Owen Wu, University of British Columbia
2005 Second Place
Guillaume Roels, UCLA Anderson School of Management
Ping Josephine Xu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2005 Honorable Mention
Richard Lai, Harvard University
Qian Liu, Columbia University
Gigi Yuen, Northwestern University
2004 First Place
Retsef Levi, Cornell University Martin Pal, Cornell University
2004 Second Place
Ravi Subramanian, University of Michigan (with Sudheer Gupta and Brian Talbot)
2004 Honorable Mention
Xinxin Hu, University of Michigan
2004 Finalist
Gad Allon, Northwestern University
Felipe Caro, UCLA
Holly Lutze, University of Texas
2003 First Place
Amar Sapra, Cornell University
2003 Second Place
Jiri Chod, University of Rochester
2003 Honorable Mention
Aydin Alptekinoglu, UCLA
Li Chen, Stanford University
Gurhan Kok, Duke University
Victor Martinez de Albeniz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 First Place
Xinxin Hu, University of Michigan
2002 Second Place
Xin Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Woonghee Tim Huh, Cornell University
2002 Finalist
Natalia Golovachkina, Cornell University
Justin Ren, Boston University
Jinxin Yi, CMU
2001 First Place
Kevin H. Shang, University of California, Irvine
2001 Second Place
Gustavo Vulcano, Columbia University
Rene Caldentey, New York University
2000 First Place
Jeremie Gallien, MIT
2000 Second Place
Serguei Netessine, INSEAD
2000 Finalist
Michael Fry, University of Michigan Maher Lahmar, University of Minnesota Sergie Savin, Columbia University
1999 First Place
L. Beril Toktay, MIT
1999 Second Place
Prashant Fuloria, Stanford University
Itir Karaesmen, Columbia University
1999 Honorable Mention
Apurva Jain, Purdue University
James Treharne, Auburn University
1998 First Place
Xiaomei Ding, University of British Columbia
1998 Second Place
Jeremie Gallien, MIT
1998 Honorable Mention
Carolos Bispo, Carnegie Mellon University John Hollywood, MIT
1997 First Place
Daniel Adelman, University of Chicago
1997 Second Place
Roman Kapuscinski, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
1997 Honorable Mention
Scott Carr, University of California-Los Angeles
Kaan Katircioglu
1996 First Place
Stefanos A. Zenios, Stanford University
1996 Second Place
Siddharth Mahajan

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


Goker Aydin
Guillaume Roels
Gilvan Souza


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.