Fellow Award Application Process

The contributions of a nominee will be evaluated in each of the following four categories.

- Research - Includes impact through quantity and quality of published work in INFORMS journals, and recognition through ISMS/INFORMS Awards (e.g., Bass, Little and other INFORMS awards).

- Education - Includes activities that had significant impact on the growth and development of education such as published books and monographs, and chairing doctoral dissertations.

- Service - Includes significant work over and exteded period of time on behalf of ISMS. Examples include senior editorial responsibilities in INFORMS journals (such as Editor-in-Chief of Marketing Science, marketing departmental editor of Management Science, area editor of Marketing Science), organizing the Marketing Science Conference and other ISMS and INFORMS conferences, and holding office in ISMS and INFORMS.

- Practice - Includes substantial application of OR/MS to significant practical problems within an organization of any type (e.g. academic, for-profit, nonprofit, governmental, military, health care), over an extended period of time, that have had a major impact internal and/or external to the organization. The ISMS Practice Prize and the Edelman Award will be duly recognized.

Contributions in all four categories will be evaluated in a compensatory way. Truly outstanding contributions in one category will also suffice. With rare exception, the nominee's contributions should extend over a period of years and not be limited to a single result. Except for very rare cases, because the award recipient is named an ISMS Fellow, some service to ISMS is a prerequisite for all nominees.

To be eligible, a nominee for the Fellow Award must have been a full member or retired member of INFORMS/ISMS for at least 10 consecutive years immediately prior to the nomination or must have been a member of INFORMS/ISMS for at least 15 years cumulative.

The Selection Committee will consist of nine Fellows. Election to the Selection Committee is for a three-year term so that three new members are selected each year. Members of the Fellows Selection Committee may not nominate or serve as references.

Any ISMS member may nominated an individual for the award. Self nominations are not permitted. A call for nominations will be sent out to all members of ISMS by October 15th. Nominations are due to the Selection Committee Chair by December 1st. As an example, the nomination of an individual who has 10 publications in INFORMS journals, 10 years of service to ISMS in capacities described above, and has chaired 10 doctoral dissertations would be considered to be strong. As noted, contributions in different categories are evaluated in a compensatory way.

Fellow awardees and their nominators will be notified by the ISMS office in early May so that they can plan to attend the ISMS annual meeting. At this time they are requested to submit digital pictures for use in the presentations and announcements.

2008 is the inaugural year of this award.

Return to the main prize page


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.