Frank M. Bass Dissertation Paper Award

Purpose of the Award

The Bass Award is given to the best marketing paper derived from a Ph.D. thesis published in an INFORMS-sponsored journal according to the following eligibility requirements:

The paper must have appeared in an INFORMS journal within approximately the two years and three months preceding the nomination deadline and

The paper must have been accepted within five years from the date the thesis was finally approved.

Additionally, in the case of multiple authors, nomination implies that the Ph. D. recipient is understood to have made the primary contribution to the publication. For more than two authors, this condition requires that the Ph.D. recipient be the first author. For two authors, either the Ph.D. recipient is the first author or the names are in alphabetical order and there is a notation as to the relative contributions of the authors indicating equal (or greater) contribution by the recipient.

Past Awardees

Gerard J. Tellis, University of Southern California Seshadri Tirunillai
2013 Winner(s)
Ron Berman
2010 Winner(s)
Juanjuan Zhang
2010 Finalist
Jun B. Kim
Zsolt Katona, University of California Berkeley
2009 Winner(s)
Kenneth C. Wilbur, Duke University
2009 Finalist
Zsolt Katona, University of California Berkeley
Brett R. Gordon, Columbia University
2008 Winner(s)
Oded Netzer, Columbia University V. Srinivasan, Stanford University James M. Lattin, Stanford University
2008 Finalist
Yubo Chen, University of Arizona Jinhong Xie
Zsolt Katona, University of California Berkeley
2007 Winner(s)
Gunter J. Hitsch, University of Chicago
2007 Finalist
Koen Pauwels Dominique M. Hanssens, Anderson School of Management
2006 Winner(s)
Dina Mayzlin
2006 Finalist
Timothy J. Gilbride Greg M. Allenby, Helen C. Kurtz Chair in Marketing
Fisher College of Business
The Ohio State University
Debanjan Mitra Peter N. Golder, How Does Objective Quality Affect Perceived Quality? Short-Term Effects, Long-Term Effects, and Asymmetries
2005 Winner(s)
Dmitri Kuksov
2004 Winner(s)
Elie Ofek Miklos Sarvary
2001 Winner(s)
Yuxin Chen Chakravarthi Narasimhan, Philip L. Siteman Professor of Marketing
Olin Business School
Washington University in St. Louis
Z. John Zhang
1998 Winner(s)
Prasad Naik
1997 Winner(s)
Miklos Sarvary
1996 Winner(s)
Tulin Erdem
1995 Winner(s)
Jan Roelf Bult
1994 Winner(s)
Abbie Griffin
1993 Winner(s)
João Assunção
1992 Winner(s)
Paul Nelson
1991 Winner(s)
Jagmohan S. Raju
1990 Winner(s)
Greg M. Allenby, Helen C. Kurtz Chair in Marketing
Fisher College of Business
The Ohio State University

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Frank M. Bass Dissertation Paper Award

Frank M. Bass is the Eugene C. McDermott University of Texas System Professor of Management at the University of Texas at Dallas. He is a former president of TIMS (now INFORMS) and a former editor of the Journal of Marketing Research. He has won many awards for his research including best paper awards for the Journal of Marketing Research and for the Journal of Marketing as well as the best marketing paper in Management Science or Marketing Science..

Learn more about Frank M. Bass »


2014 Committee Chair
Ganesh Iyer
Haas School of Business
University of California, Berkeley
MC 1900
Berkeley, CA 94720-1900, USA


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.