Koopman Prize

Winning material: Optimizing Intratheater Military Airlift in Iraq and Afghanistan

Purpose of the Award

This Prize was named after Bernard Koopman, a founding father of military operations research. It is awarded for the outstanding publication in military operations research of the previous year. The award is accompanied by a plaque and a $500 honorarium.

Past Awardees

2011 Awardee(s)
Greg H. Parlier
2010 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University
2009 Awardee(s)
Moshe Kress, Naval Postgraduate School Roberto Szechtman, Naval Post Graduate School
2008 Awardee(s)
J. Todd Hamill Richard F. Deckro, Air Force Institute of Technology Robert F. Mills James W. Chrissis, Air Force Institute of Technology
2006 Awardee(s)
Paul L. Ewing, Jr., Naval Postgraduate School William Tarantino, Confluent-Data Systems Gregory Parnell, United States Military Academy
2005 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University Moshe Kress, Naval Postgraduate School
2004 Awardee(s)
Stephen D. Biddle, Strategic Studies Institute
2003 Awardee(s)
Matthew S. Goldberg, National Security Division Anduin E. Touw, The Boeing Corporation
2002 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
David L. Craft, MIT
2001 Awardee(s)
Israel David, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
2000 Awardee(s)
Kirk Yost, Mitre Corporation Alan R. Washburn, Naval Postgraduate School
1999 Awardee(s)
Dennis Dietz, Qwest (formerly U S WEST) Advanced Technologies, Boulder, Colorado.
1998 Awardee(s)
Katta G. Murty, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, Dept. of I/O Engineering Philipp A. Djang
1995 Awardee(s)
Martin Shubik Jerome Bracken
1994 Awardee(s)
Hanif D. Sherali, Virginia Polytechnic & State University, Industrial & Systems Engineering Dept. Youngho Lee Donald D. Boyer
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Koopman Prize

Bernard Osgood Koopman was a founding member of ORSA and a featured speaker at the society's initial meeting in 1952. He was awarded the Kimball Medal in 1980 in recognition of his dedicated service to the OR profession. His special interest in military OR earned him the 1979 Wander Award of the Military Operations Research Society...

Learn more about Bernard Koopman »


2015 Committee Chair:
William P. Fox
Department of Defense Analysis
Naval Postgraduate School
Monterey, CA 93943


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.