Farkas Prize of the Optimization Society

Nomination deadline: July 15, 2015

2016 - Awardee(s)
2016 Awardee(s): Sven Leyffer

Purpose of the Award

The Farkas Prize of the INFORMS Optimization Society was established in 2006 and is awarded annually at the INFORMS Fall National Meeting to a mid-career researcher for outstanding contributions to the field of optimization, over the course of their career. Such contributions could include papers (published or submitted and accepted), books, monographs, and software. The awardee will be within 25 years of their terminal degree as of January 1 of the year of the award. The prize serves as an esteemed recognition of colleagues in the middle of their career.

The award includes a cash amount of $1,000 and a citation certificate. The award winner will be invited to give a twenty-five minute presentation at the INFORMS Fall National Meeting in the year of the award. The winner will be responsible for all travel expenses associated with attending the INFORMS meeting.

Otimization Society Farkas Prize

Past Awardees

2016 Awardee(s)
Sven Leyffer
2015 Awardee(s)
Robert Weismantel
2014 Awardee(s)
Farid Alizadeh
2013 Awardee(s)
Pablo A. Parrilo
2012 Awardee(s)
Michel Goemans
2011 Awardee(s)
Andrew Goldberg
2010 Awardee(s)
Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo, University of Minnesota
2008 Awardee(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Applied Mathematics Dept
2006 Awardee(s)
Yinyu Ye, Stanford University, Department of Management Science & Engineering
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Farkas Prize of the Optimization Society

Gyula (Julius) Farkas was a famous Hungarian mathematician and theoretical physicist, whose name is best known to optimizers and OR specialists because of his theory of linear inequalities. He also obtained fundamental results in analytical mechanics in that he gave necessary condition for the equilibrium of a mechanical system, where the states are constrained by inequalities...

Learn more about Gyula Farkas┬╗


2015 Prize Chair
Ariela Sofer


 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2015 Presentations

2014 Presentations

2013 Presentations

2012 Presentations

2011 Presentations

2010 Presentations

2009 Presentations