Public Sector OR Best Paper Competition

Submission deadline: June 30, 2015

2016 - First Place
2016 First Place: Priyank Arora , Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech ; Ravi Subramanian, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech
Winning material: “Improving Societal Outcomes in the Organ Donation Value Chain”

Purpose of the Award

The INFORMS Public Sector OR Section is sponsoring an award for best paper presented at the INFORMS annual conference in Philadelphia, November 1-4, 2015. This award is intended to encourage journal-quality research in all of the disciplines and application areas represented within PSOR, and to build a tradition of scholarly exchange of knowledge at our research meetings beyond attendance at sessions. Participation is open to all INFORMS members, whether students, academics, or practitioners. Each submission must be associated with a presentation at the fall national conference. Subject to receiving qualified submissions, one first prize of $250, one second prize of $100, and an honorable mention will be awarded at the PSOR business meeting, to take place at the INFORMS Fall 2015 conference.

Past Awardees

2016 First Place
Priyank Arora , Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech Ravi Subramanian, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech
2016 Second Place
Hsin-Tien Tsai Pnina Feldman Jun Li, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
2016 Third Place
Qiushi Chen Jagpreet Chhatwal, Merck Research Laboratories Turgay Ayer, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2015 Second Place
Eike Nohdurft Elisa Long Stefan Spinler, WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management
2015 Honorable Mention
Na Li Nan Kong, Purdue University, Biomedical Engineering Quanlin Li Zhibin Jiang
2014 First Place
Monica Gentili, Universita Di Roma, Italy Nicoleta Serban, Georgia Institute of Technology Julie L. Swann, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
2014 Second Place
Alex Mills, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Jonathan Helm, University of Michigan Yu Wang
2014 Honorable Mention
Yan Deng, University of Michigan Siqian Shen, University of Florida Brian T. Denton, North Carolina State University
2013 First Place
Itai Ashlagi , MIT Peng Shi
2013 Second Place
Edieal Pinker Tolga Tezcan
2013 Honorable Mention
Senay Solak Armagan Bayram, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Weihong Hu Alejandro Toriello Xiang Liu Mariel Lavieri, University of British Columbia
2012 Second Place
Timothy Chan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Derya Demirtas Roy H. Kwon
2012 Honorable Mention
Prem Swaroop, University of Maryland Michael O. Ball
Özlem Ergun, Georgia Institute of Technology
School of Industrial/Systems Engineering
Luyi Gui Atalay Atasu Beril Toktay
2012 Finalist
Krishnan S. Anand, University of Utah Francois Giraud-Carrier
2011 First Place
Yina Lu Linda Green Carri W. Chan, Columbia University
2011 Second Place
Michael Fry, University of Michigan Muer Yang
2011 Finalist
Jessica Heier Stamm, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
Kathleen Hendrix, Georgia Institute of Technology

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2015 Committee Chair

Alex F. Mills
Assistant Professor of Operations and Decision Technologies
Indiana University Kelley School of Business


 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2015 Presentations

2014 Presentations

2013 Presentations

2012 Presentations

2011 Presentations

2010 Presentations

2009 Presentations