Section Prize

Nomination deadline: August 21, 2015

2012 Awardee(s): Omar Besbes, Columbia University
Winning material: Dynamic pricing without knowing the demand function: risk bounds and near-optimal algorithms and Revenue Management for a Make-to-Order Queue in an Uncertain Market Environment

Purpose of the Award

The INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize is awarded for the best contribution to the science of pricing and revenue management published in English. The prize includes a certificate and a cash award. The prize is awarded each year at the INFORMS National Meeting if there is a suitable recipient. Papers that are eligible may be resubmitted the next year. Published work must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize:

Past Awardees

2012 Awardee(s)
Omar Besbes, Columbia University
2010 Awardee(s)
Huseyin Topaloglu, Cornell University
2009 Awardee(s)
Xin Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology David Simchi-Levi, MIT Operations Research Center
2008 Awardee(s)
Constantinos Maglaras, Columbia University Assaf Zeevi, Columbia University
2007 Awardee(s)
William L. Cooper, University of Minnesota Tito Homem-de-Mello Anton J. Kleywegt
2006 Awardee(s)
Robert L. Phillips, Nomis Solutions, Inc.
2005 Awardee(s)
Guillermo Gallego, Columbia University
2004 Awardee(s)
Garrett J. van Ryzin, Columbia University, Graduate School of Business Kalyan T. Talluri, University Pompeu Fabra, Dept. of Economics & Business
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2015 Prize Committee Chair:
William L. Cooper
Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis MN 55455



 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.