Distinguished Service Award

2011 - Awardee
2011 Awardee(s): Pierre L'Ecuyer

Purpose of the Award

To recognize individuals who have provided long-standing, exceptional service to the simulation community, the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) College on Simulation has established its Distinguished Service Award, which may be given to at most one person annually. Sustained service to the simulation community should extend over a period of 15 to 20 years or longer and be acquitted with distinction.

Past Awardees

2011 Awardee(s)
Pierre L'Ecuyer
2010 Awardee(s)
Peter D. Welch, Walpole Software, Columbia University
2008 Awardee(s)
Russell Barton, Pennsylvania State University
2007 Awardee(s)
Russell C.H. Cheng, University of Southampton
2006 Awardee(s)
not given
2005 Awardee(s)
Deborah A. Sadowski, Rockwell Software
2003 Awardee(s)
Barry L. Nelson, Northwestern University
2002 Awardee(s)
David Goldsman, Georgia Institute of Technology
2000 Awardee(s)
Felix Breitenecker
1999 Awardee(s)
Jerry Banks, Georgia Institute of Technology
1998 Awardee(s)
W. David Kelton, University of Cincinnati
1997 Awardee(s)
Bruce Schmeiser, Purdue University
1996 Awardee(s)
Thomas J. Schriber, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
1995 Awardee(s)
James R. Wilson, North Carolina State University
1994 Awardee(s)
Stephen D. Roberts
1993 Awardee(s)
not given
1992 Awardee(s)
not given
1991 Awardee(s)
A. Alan B. Pritsker, Purdue University
1990 Awardee(s)
George Fishman, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
1989 Awardee(s)
Harold Joseph Highland
1988 Awardee(s)
Robert G. Sargent, Syracuse University
1987 Awardee(s)
Richard E. Nance, Orca Computer Incorporated
1986 Awardee(s)
John McLeod
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2008 Committee Chair
Russell Cheng
Haldon, 6 Corve Street
Ludlow SY8 1DA United Kingdom
voice: +011 44 1584 879457
fax: +011 44 1584 873746
E-mail: r.c.h.cheng@soton.ac.uk


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.