Best Paper Award

2013 - First Place
2013 First Place: Guglielmo Lulli, University of Milano-Bicocca ; Dimitris Bertsimas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology ; Amedeo R. Odoni, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Winning material: An Integer Optimization Approach to Large-Scale Air Traffic Flow Management

Purpose of the Award

The TSL Best Paper Award will be given every year to an outstanding paper in the field of transportation science and logistics. The paper must have been published in a refereed journal and must present innovative approaches for solving complex problems in transportation and/or logistics, with an emphasis on operations research and quantitative methods.

Past Awardees

2013 First Place
Guglielmo Lulli, University of Milano-Bicocca Dimitris Bertsimas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Amedeo R. Odoni, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2012 First Place
John Bartholdi, Georgia Institute of Technology Donald Eisenstein, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
2012 Honorable Mention
Ulrich Derigs Stefan Friederichs
2010 First Place
Abraham George, Princeton University Hugo Simao, Princeton University John Nienow, Schneider National Jeff Day, Schneider National Ted Gifford, Schneider National Warren Powell, Princeton University
2008 First Place
Olaf Jahn, Infopark AG Rolf H. Mohring, Technische Universitat Berlin, Andreas S. Schulz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Nicolas E. Stier-Moses, Columbia University Andrea S. Schulz, MIT
2008 Honorable Mention
Gilbert Laporte, École des Hautes Études Commerciales Montréal Arne Lokketangen Lars M. Hvattum
2007 First Place
Jiamin Zhao, Oracle Corporation Maged Dessouky, University of Southern California Satish Bukkapatnam, Oklahoma State University
2007 Honorable Mention
Caspar G. Chorus, Delft University of Technology Theo A. Arentze, Eindhoven University of Technology Eric J.E. Molin, Delft University of Technology Harry J.P. Timmermans, Eindhoven University of Technology Bert Van Wee, Delft University of Technology
Georgia Perkais, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Guillaume Roels, UCLA Anderson School of Management
2006 Awardee(s)
Michel Bierlaie, École Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne Frank Crittin, IDIAP Research Institute
2005 Awardee(s)
Anton J. Kleywegt Vijay S. Nori Martin W.P. Savelsbergh, Georgia Institute of Technology
2004 Awardee(s)
Gilbert Laporte, École des Hautes Études Commerciales Montréal Francois V. Louveaux, Facultes Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix Luc Van Hamme, OM Partners
2003 Awardee(s)
A. Armacost, U.S. Air Force Academy C. Barnhart, MIT K.A. Ware, UPS Airlines
2002 Awardee(s)
Jose Rafael Correa, MIT Roberto Cominetti, Universidad de Chile

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2014 Committee Chair

Rajesh Ganesan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Systems Engineering and Operations Research
George Mason University
4400 University Dr, MS 4A6
Fairfax VA 22030, USA

2014 Committee Members

Markos Papageorgiou, Ph.D.
Dynamic Systems & Simulation Laboratory
Technical University of Crete
University Campus
Chania, Greece
Voice: +30-28210-37289

Marielle Christiansen, Ph.D.
Department of Industrial Economics and Technology Management
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
7491 Trondheim, Norway

Milind Gajanan Sohoni, Ph.D.
Sr. Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Associate Professor of Operations Management
Indian School of Business
Gachibowli, Hyderabad, India- 500 032

Akshay Belle, Ph.D.
Associate-Senior Aviation Operations Researcher
Booz Allen Hamilton
Herndon, VA USA


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.