TSL Dissertation Prize

Submission deadline: June 30, 2014

2014 First Place: Samiul Hasan, Purdue University
Winning material: Modeling Urban Mobility Dynamics using Geo-location Data

Purpose of the Award

This is the oldest and most prestigious honor for doctoral dissertations in the transportation science and logistics area. Eligible doctoral dissertations are those completed and submitted June 1 of the year previous to the award and May 31 in the award year, in the general area of transportation science and logistics. The award is accompanied by a $500 honorarium. In addition, the winner and the recipient of an honorable mention (if any) each receives a commemorative plaque.

Past Awardees

2014 First Place
Samiul Hasan, Purdue University
2014 Honorable Mention
Frank Fischer, Chemnitz University of Technology
2013 First Place
Max Klimm, Technische Universität Berlin
2013 Honorable Mention
Dimitri Papageorgiou, Georgia Institute of Technology
2012 First Place
Jon Petersen, Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 First Place
Jessica Heier Stamm, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
2011 Honorable Mention
Ilaria Vacca, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
2010 First Place
Irina Dolinskaya, University of Michigan
2009 First Place
Gitakrishnan Ramadurai, RPI
2009 Honorable Mention
Pavithra Harsha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Adrian Lee, University of Illimois at Urbana-Champaign
2008 First Place
Emma Frejinger, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
2007 First Place
Juan Carlos Morales, Georgia Institute of Technology
2007 Honorable Mention
Zhou Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
2006 First Place
Christian Liebchen, Technical University of Berlin
2006 Honorable Mention
Anne Goodchild, University of California at Berkeley
2005 First Place
Luigi Moccia, Universita della Calabria, Italy
2005 Honorable Mention
Song Gao , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 First Place
Lawrence Snyder , Northwestern University
2004 Honorable Mention
Miguel Figliozzi , University of Maryland
2003 First Place
Thomas Vossen , University of Colorado - Boulder, Leeds School of Business
2003 Honorable Mention
Tomer Toledo , Massachusetts Institute Of Technology
2002 First Place
Iris F.A. Vis , Erasmus Universiteit
Alvin C. Lim, Johns Hopkins University
2001 First Place
Alan Erera , Georgia Institute of Technology School of Industrial & Systems Eng
Joan Walker , Boston University
2001 Honorable Mention
Andrew Armacost, United States Air Force Academy
Jon Bottom, MIT
2000 First Place
Diego Klabjan , Georgia Institute of Technology
Hillel Bar-Gera, University of Illinois at Chicago
1999 First Place
Padma Ramanujan
1999 Honorable Mention
William D. Hall, CitationShares
Nicola Secomandi, University of Houston
1998 First Place
Gianpaolo Ghiani
1998 Honorable Mention
Robert Hoffman
1997 First Place
Gregory Glockner , Dwaffler
Sarah Stock Patterson, Duke University
1997 Honorable Mention
Kalidas Ashok
1996 First Place
Tassio Carvalho, Princeton University
1996 Honorable Mention
Chris Caplice, MIT
1995 First Place
Bernard Gendron , Universite de Montreal
1994 First Place
Srinivas Peeta , Purdue University
1993 Honorable Mention
Raymond Cheung, Hong Kong University Rekha Pellai
1992 Awardee(s)
Julien Bramel, School of Engineering and Applied Science
Columbia University
1991 Awardee(s)
Linos Frantzeskakis
1989 Awardee(s)
Jeffrey McGill, Queen's University
1988 Awardee(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Applied Mathematics Dept
1987 Awardee(s)
Matteo Fischetti
1986 Awardee(s)
Shoshana Anily, Tel Aviv University
1985 Awardee(s)
Patrick Jaillet , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1984 Awardee(s)
Anataram Balakrishnan
1982 Awardee(s)
Charles Aikens
1981 Awardee(s)
James B. Orlin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Warren Powell, Princeton University
1980 Awardee(s)
Christian Lardinois
1979 Awardee(s)
Tom Sexton
1979 Honorable Mention
H. Aashtiani F. Soumis
1978 Awardee(s)
Harilaos Psaraftis, Dynamic Programming Algorithms for Sequencing and Routing Problems in Transportation
1978 Honorable Mention
Yosef Sheffi
1977 Awardee(s)
David Stein
1977 Honorable Mention
S.E. Erikson S.Rao
1976 Awardee(s)
Roger Dear
1976 Honorable Mention
Bruce L. Golden, University of Maryland, Robert H. Smith School of Business
1975 Honorable Mention
Phillip E. Taylor Alan Black
1974 Awardee(s)
Timothy J. Tardiff
1973 Awardee(s)
Robert Richardson
1971 Awardee(s)
Slobodan Mitric
1971 Honorable Mention
Kent L. Groninger Theodore E. Keeler
1970 Awardee(s)
Nathan Gartner
1970 Honorable Mention
Eduardo Aldana-Valdes, Universidad de Los Andes

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2014 Committee Chair

Thomas Vossen
Leeds School of Business
University of Colorado at Boulder
E-mail:  Thomas.Vossen@Colorado.edu

2014 Committee Members

Serge Hoogendoorn
Transport & Planning Department
Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences
Delft University of Technology
E-mail: s.p.hoogendoorn@tudelft.nl

Elisabetta Cherchi
Department of Transport
Technical University of Denmark
E-mail:  elich@transport.dtu.dk

Guglielmo Lulli
Department of Informatics, Systems and Communications,
University of Milan “Bicocca”
E-mail:  lulli@disco.unimib.it

Megan S. Ryerson
Department of City and Regional Planning
Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
E-mail:  mryerson@design.upenn.edu


Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View these presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2014 Presentations
2013 Presentations
2012 Presentations
2011 Presentations
2010 Presentations
2009 Presentations

INFORMS Expert List

Call on INFORMS experts to comment on important news of the day in their expert areas.