WORMS Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS

2016 - Awardee(s)
2016 Awardee(s): Karen Smilowitz

Purpose of the Award

The WORMS Award celebrates and recognizes a person who has contributed significantly to the advancement and recognition of women in the field of Operations Research and the Management Sciences (OR/MS). The award (in the form of a plaque) will be presented each year during the INFORMS annual meeting.

Past Awardees

2016 Awardee(s)
Karen Smilowitz
2014 Winner(s)
Aleda Roth, Clemson University
2013 Awardee(s)
Kathryn E. Stecke, University of Texas - Dallas, School of Management
2012 Awardee(s)
Dr. Vicki L. Sauter
2011 Awardee(s)
Dr. Berna Dengiz
2010 Awardee(s)
Brenda Dietrich, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
2009 Awardee(s)
Alice E. Smith, Auburn University
2008 Awardee(s)
Candace Yano, University of California, Berkeley
2007 Awardee(s)
Anna Nagurney, University of Massachusetts - Amherst, Isenberg School of Management
2006 Awardee(s)
Radhika Kulkarni, SAS
2005 Awardee(s)
Jane Ammons, Georgia Institute of Technology Cynthia Barnhart, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Featured Award

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


2015 Award Committee Chair:

Aleda Roth
Clemson University


 Do you have the best O.R. department in the world? Enter to win the INFORMS Prize and find out.

On-Demand Wagner Prize Presentations

View presentations of verifiable O.R. practice success that made a substantial difference in their organizations. Use them in the classroom or to apply lessons learned to your own organization.

2015 Presentations

2014 Presentations

2013 Presentations

2012 Presentations

2011 Presentations

2010 Presentations

2009 Presentations