George E. Kimball Medal

2014 - Awardee(s)
2014 Awardee(s): Terry P. Harrison, CAP, Penn State University

Terry P. Harrison received his B.S. in forest science from Penn State University and his M.S. and Ph.D. in management science at the University of Tennessee. He has been a member of the faculty at the Smeal College of Business at Penn State since 1982.  He was a member of the Management Science and Information Systems Department from 1982-2002, serving as department chair in 2000-2001.  Since 2002, he has been a member of the Supply Chain and Information Systems Department within Smeal.  He is currently the Earl P. Strong Executive Education Professor of Business, Professor of Supply Chain and Information Systems and Faculty Director of Sustainability.

Professor Harrison’s research has primarily focused on the use of operations research and analytics applied to supply chain management. The application of his work on the design of supply chains was an Edelman finalist and the co-authored companion paper is one of the most highly cited manuscripts in the history ofInterfaces.  He is a co-recipient of the Wilbur Payne Group Award for excellence in Army Operations Research that is presented yearly by the Army Operations Research Society for excellence in Army OR for his work on enabling strategic responsiveness.  He has also received other awards for research and practice from other professional organizations. 

Harrison has won a number of teaching awards, including a national award by Educom for implementing optimization in undergraduate optimization and recognition byBusiness Weekas a “four star” instructor.  He has designed six new graduate courses on various aspects of optimization and is currently co-developing an online curriculum that includes a new course on prescriptive analytics. 

Harrison has a long history of service to the profession, in general, and INFORMS, in particular.  He has served five times as an Edelman judge, six times as a Wagner Prize judge, two terms as Editor-in-Chief ofInterfaces, five years as Vice President of Publications, and a three-year sequence as President-Elect, President (2012), and Past President of INFORMS, along with many contributions within meetings, publications, planning and outreach.  He currently serves on the Analytics Certification Board. 

Harrison is a recently elected Fellow of INFORMS.  He has also served as an operations research and analytics consultant on a continual basis for over 30 years to industry, federal and state governments. 

For his many contributions to the field of operations research and management science the Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences expresses its sincere appreciation to Terry P. Harrison by awarding him the 2014 George E. Kimball Medal.

Purpose of the Award

The George E. Kimball Medal is awarded for recognition of distinguished service to the Institute and to the profession of operations research and the management sciences. The award is a medallion and a certificate.

Prior to the creation of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) by the merger of the Operations Research Society of America (ORSA) and The Institute of Management Sciences (TIMS), the Kimball Medal was an ORSA Prize. TIMS had a similar prize, the TIMS' Distinguished Service Medal. The winners of this prize are included in the list below.

Past Awardees

2014 Awardee(s)
Terry P. Harrison, CAP, Penn State University
2013 Awardee(s)
Rina Schneur , Verizon Laboratories
Eric Wolman, George Mason University
Teresa V. Cryan, INFORMS
2012 Awardee(s)
Susan Albin, Rutgers University
Don N. Kleinmuntz, Strata Decision Technology, LLC
2011 Awardee(s)
Brenda L. Dietrich, IBM TJ Watson Research Center Stephen M. Robinson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2010 Awardee(s)
Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
James C. Bean, University of Oregon
2009 Awardee(s)
Mark S. Daskin, Northwestern University, Dept. of Industrial Engineering and Management Science Michael A. Trick, Carnegie Mellon University, Tepper School of Business
2008 Awardee(s)
John R. Birge, University of Chicago, Graduate School of Business
Kathryn E. Stecke, University of Texas - Dallas, School of Management
2007 Awardee(s)
Thomas M. Cook
Marshall L. Fisher, University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School Operations & Information Management Dept.
2006 Awardee(s)
L. Robin Keller, University of California - Irvine, Paul Merage School of Business
2005 Awardee(s)
Karla L. Hoffman, George Mason University, System Engineering & Operations Research Dept.
2004 Awardee(s)
Frank T. Trippi
2003 Awardee(s)
Paul Gray
Vicki L. Sauter, University of Missouri - St Louis, College of Business Administration
2002 Awardee(s)
Craig W. Kirkwood, Dept. of Supply Chain Management, Arizona State University
Richard C. Larson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Gary L. Lilien, Pennsylvania State University
2001 Awardee(s)
H. Newton Garber
Stephen M. Pollock, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, Dept. of Industrial and Operations Engineering
2000 Awardee(s)
Robert A. Abrams
Arthur M. Geoffrion, UCLA, Anderson School of Management
1999 Awardee(s)
Carl M. Harris
1998 Awardee(s)
John J. Jarvis
1997 Awardee(s)
Michael H. Rothkopf
1996 Awardee(s)
Donald Gross
Gerald J. Lieberman, G. Lieberman Consulting LLC
1995 Awardee(s)
Peter V. Norden
1994 Awardee(s)
Thomas L. Magnanti, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
David A. Schrady, Naval Postgraduate School, Dept. of Operations Research
Mary R. DeMelim, Director, MRD Associates
1993 Awardee(s)
Seth Bonder, The Bonder Group
1992 Awardee(s)
W. Edward Cushen
1991 Awardee(s)
Saul I. Gass, University of Maryland, Robert H. Smith School of Business
1990 Awardee(s)
Hugh E. Bradley
1989 Awardee(s)
William P. Pierskalla
1988 Awardee(s)
George L. Nemhauser, Georgia Institute of Technology, Dept. of Industrial & Systems Engineering
1987 Awardee(s)
John D.C. Little, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1986 Awardee(s)
Arthur A. Brown
1985 Awardee(s)
Alfred Blumstein, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz College
1984 Awardee(s)
Charles D. Flagle
1983 Awardee(s)
Merrill M. Flood
Martin K. Starr, Rollins College
1982 Awardee(s)
Jack R. Borsting, University of Southern California, Marshall School of Business
1981 Awardee(s)
David B. Hertz
1980 Awardee(s)
Bernard O. Koopman
1979 Awardee(s)
Charles J. Hitch
1978 Awardee(s)
John F. Magee, Arthur D. Little Incorporated
1976 Awardee(s)
Robert Herman, University of Texas-Austin
1975 Awardee(s)
Russell L. Ackoff
1974 Awardee(s)
Thomas E. Caywood
Featured Award

Application Process

There is no formal application process. Candidates are identified by the committee, and informal nominations are accepted.

Click here to learn more.

About the Award/Namesake

George E. Kimball

Born in Chicago in 1906, Kimball received his bachelor's degree in quantum chemistry from Princeton University in 1928. He returned there to do his graduate work under Hugh Taylor, and pursue more chemistry, physics and mathematics. He received a National Research Fellowship in chemistry and spent from 1933-1935 at MIT. In 1942, Philip Morse organized a Navy group to analyze antisubmarine tactics, and Kimball was one of the first persons recruited. Within the year he became Deputy Director of the group, called the Operations Research Group (ORG) during the war, later called the Operations Evaluation Group, U.S.N...

Learn more about George E. Kimball »


2015 Committee Chair:

Susan Albin
Rutgers University
Department of Industrial Engineering
96 Frelinghuysen Rd
Piscataway, NJ 08854


Click here for committee information.


Search for a Job or search for an employee.
Access to excellent speakers who are experts in operations research and the management sciences.
Mail list rental, Journal Ads, Sponsorship Opportunities, etc.