Undergraduate Operations Research Prize

2014 Winner(s): Hongfan Chen, Georgia Tech
Winning material: Robust Demand Response Portfolio Management Under Operational Uncertainty

Purpose of the Award

The Undergraduate Operations Research Prize Competition is held each year to honor a student or group of students who conducted a significant applied project in operations research or management science, and/or original and important theoretical or applied research in operations research or management science, while enrolled as an undergraduate student. The prize is given each year at the Annual Meeting if there is a suitable recipient.

Past Awardees

2014 Winner(s)
Hongfan Chen, Georgia Tech
2014 Finalist
Binnam Kim, Korea University
Jisu J. Park, Georgia Tech
Chao Qin, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Cheng Hua, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Müberra Özmen, Middle East Technical University Engin Yıldız, Middle East Technical University Gamze Yağız, Middle East Technical University Selen Yıldırım, Middle East Technical University Sıdıka Tunç, Middle East Technical University
2013 Winner(s)
Frederick Abiprabowo, University of Pennsylvania Napat Harinsuit, University of Pennsylvania Samuel Lim, University of Pennsylvania Willis Zhang, University of Pennsylvania
Nazli Busra Akar, Bilkent University Başak Kepir, Bilkent University Çağıl Koçyiğit, Bilkent University Işıl Koyuncu, Bilkent University Melis Beren Özer, Bilkent University Tunca Turkoglu, Bilkent University
2013 Finalist
Rebecca Swaszek, Lehigh University
Yaileen M. Mendez-Vazquez, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez Kasandra L. Ramires-Rojas, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
2012 Winner(s)
Alice Paul, Harvey Mudd College
2012 Honorable Mention
Alex Ma, Northwestern University
Alex Huang, Northwestern University
Sara Schmidt, Northwestern University
Nancy Xu, Northwestern University
Brandon Zhang, Northwestern University
2011 Winner(s)
Matthew Robinson, United States Military Academy
2011 Honorable Mention
Morgan Doty, Georgia Institute of Technology Bryce Dykes, Georgia Institute of Technology Kathleen Hendrix, Georgia Institute of Technology Ralph Long, Georgia Institute of Technology Dana Lupuloff, Georgia Institute of Technology Doug Meagh, Georgia Institute of Technology Jeffrey Phillips, Georgia Institute of Technology Michael Vallecoccia, Georgia Institute of Technology
2010 Winner(s)
John Silberholz, University of Maryland,
2010 Honorable Mention
Christine Barnett , Cornell University Kenneth Chu, Cornell University
James M. Davis, Rutgers
Yaniv Ovadia, Harvey Mudd College
James Wade, Georgia Institute of Technology

See All

Featured Award

Application Process

The deadline to submit is July 1, 2015.
Click below to view more information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines.

Learn more about the application process>>


2015 Committee Chair

Aurelie Thiele
Associate Professor
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA 18015 U.S.A.
email: aurelie.thiele@lehigh.edu

Click here for committee information


Search for a Job or search for an employee.
Access to excellent speakers who are experts in operations research and the management sciences.
Mail list rental, Journal Ads, Sponsorship Opportunities, etc.