Subdivisions Council and Committees

2021 Subdivisions Council

The Subdivisions Council is charged with establishing effective communication between the subdivisions and the INFORMS Board. Council members are selected by subdivisions members. The Chapters/Fora Committee provides support to the VP Chapters/Fora and the Sections/Societies Committee provides support to the VP Sections/Societies.

Subdivisions Council volunteers are a vital part of achieving our goals and making a difference. In the past the council has played a large part in many accomplishments within INFORMS. Some of these accomplishments include:

1) Chartering new Student Chapters
2) Creating and approving of new Sections, Societies, and Regional Chapters
3) Creating a Diversity Initiative within INFORMS
4) Promoting the creation of Ethics Guidelines
5) Creating and making permanent a subdivision as a member benefit

Subdivisions Council Vice Presidents

Representatives from Societies

  • Antonio Carbajal, Analytics Society
  • Mark Squillante, Applied Probability Society
  • Akshay Gupte, Computing Society
  • Yael Grushka-Cockayne, Decision Analysis Society
  • Lisa Maillart, Health Applications Society
  • Sumit Sarkar, Information Systems Society
  • Tolga Aydinliyim, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management Society
  • Roland Rust, Marketing Science Society
  • William Caballero, Military & Security Society
  • Daphne Skipper, Optimization Society
  • Theresa M. Roeder, Simulation Society
  • Alan Erera, Transportation Science & Logistics Society

Representatives from Sections

  • John Hollywood
  • Haitao Liao
  • Kayse Maass
  • Senay Solak

Representatives from Chapters

  • Shervin Beygi
  • Nasim Lari
  • Marc Meketon
  • Kathryn Walter

Representatives from Student Chapters

  • Sebasti├ín Barriga Vuylsteke
  • Leili Soltanisehat

Representatives from Fora

  • Gokce Palak

2021 Chapters/Fora Committee

  • Trevor Bihl, Chair
  • Kash Barker, Chapter Rep.
  • Amira Hijazi, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Gino Lim, Former Chair
  • Kevin Melendez, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Sue Merchant, INFORMS VP International Activities
  • Sarah Nurre Pinkley, Fora Rep.
  • Ramteen Sioshansi, Chapter Rep.
  • Ann Suhaimi, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Andrew Urbacewski, Chapter Rep.
  • Scharan JohnsonDirector, Membership and Communities

2021 Sections/Societies Committee

  • Maciek Nowak, Chair
  • Mark E. Lewis, Society Rep.
  • Georgia Perakis, Society Rep.
  • Sibel Alumur Alev, Section Rep.
  • Robin Lougee, Section Rep.
  • Julie S. Ivy At-Large Member
  • Theresa Roeder, At-Large Member
  • Jim Wilson, At-Large Member
  • Scharan JohnsonDirector, Membership and Communities