Subdivisions Council and Committees

2018 Subdivisions Council

The Subdivisions Council is charged with establishing effective communication between the subdivisions and the INFORMS Board. Council members are selected by subdivisions members. The Chapters/Fora Committee provides support to the VP Chapters/Fora and the Sections/Societies Committee provides support to the VP Sections/Societies.

Subdivisions Council volunteers are a vital part of achieving our goals and making a difference. In the past the council has played a large part in many accomplishments within INFORMS. Some of these accomplishments include:

1) Chartering new Student Chapters
2) Creating and approving of new Sections, Societies, and Regional Chapters
3) Creating a Diversity Initiative within INFORMS
4) Promoting the creation of Ethics Guidelines
5) Creating and making permanent a subdivision as a member benefit

Subdivision Council Vice Presidents

Representatives from Societies

  • Stefan Karisch, Analytics Society
  • Mark Squillante, Applied Probability Society
  • Cole Smith, Computing Society
  • Karen Jenni, Decision Analysis Society
  • Bjorn Berg, Health Applications Society
  • Sumit Sarkar, Information Systems Society
  • David Godes, Marketing Science Society
  • Andrew Hall, Military Applications Society
  • Ozge Sahin, M&SOM
  • Austin Buchanan, Optimization Society
  • Theresa M. Roeder, Simulation Society
  • Maciek Nowak, Transportation Science & Logistics

Representatives from Sections

  • Laurie Garrow
  • John Hollywood
  • Veena Mendiratta
  • Senay Solak

Representatives from Chapters

  • Trevor Bihl
  • Anthony Hillman
  • Harihara Natarajan
  • Hoda Parvin

Representatives from Student Chapters

  • Jessica Dorismond
  • Lauren Steimle

Representatives from Fora

  • Sarah Nurre

2018 Chapters/Fora Committee

  • Gino Lim, Chair
  • Michael Johnson, Former Chair
  • Trevor Bihl, Chapter Rep.
  • Jay Rosenberger, Chapter Rep.
  • Andy Johnson, Chapter Rep.
  • Sarah Nurre, Fora Rep.
  • Lauren Steimle, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Kash Barker, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Rozhin Doroudi, Student Chapter Rep.
  • Sue Merchant, INFORMS VP International Activities
  • Scharan Johnson, Director, Membership and Communities

2018 Sections/Societies Committee

  • Russell Barton, Chair
  • Ron Askin, VP Meetings, Meetings Committee
  • Walt DeGrange, at large
  • Esma Gel, at large
  • Veena Mendiratta, Representative from Sections
  • Erick Moreno-Centeno, Representative from Sections
  • Mark Squillante, Representative from Societies
  • Jim Wilson, Publications Commitee Representative
  • Scharan Johnson, Director, Membership and Communities, INFORMS Subdivision Services