Erlang Prize

Deadline: September 1, 2014

2016 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

*2014 nomination information coming soon*

The Applied Probability Society of INFORMS (APS) is currently soliciting nominations for the 2014 award of the bi-annual Erlang Prize. The Erlang Prize is awarded to a young researcher who has made outstanding contributions to applied probability. It is a prestigious award, providing recognition for exceptional achievement in the early stage of one's career.

The prize consists of a plaque and a $1000 check. The Prize will be awarded at the INFORMS annual meeting in San Francisco, California. The winner will be notified approximately one month prior to the meeting. Presentation of the Prize will be made by a member of the APS Awards Committee.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Erlang Prize

Agner Erlang was descended on his mother's side from Thomas Fincke. His father was a schoolmaster and Erlang was educated at his father's school when he was young. He took his examinations in Copenhagen at the age of 14 and passed with special distinction after having to obtain special permission to take the examinations because he was below the minimum age...

Learn more about Agner Krarup Erlang ยป


2014 Award Committee

Dr. Bert Zwart
1098 SJ Amsterdam

Past Awardees

2016 Winner(s)
Josh Reed, Georgia Institute of Technology
2014 Winner(s)
Ramon van Handel, Princeton University
2012 Winner(s)
Ton Dieker, H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology
Johan S.H. van Leeuwaarden, Eindhoven University of Technology
2010 Winner(s)
Jose Blanchet, Columbia University
Devavrat Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2008 Winner(s)
Bert Zwart, Georgia Institute of Technology, Industrial & Systems Engineering
2006 Winner(s)
Kavita Ramanan, Carnegie Mellon University, Dept. of Mathematical Sciences
2004 Winner(s)
David Gamarnik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management
2002 Winner(s)
Steven Kou, Columbia University
2000 Winner(s)
Balaji Prabharkar, Stanford University David Tse, University of California - Berkeley
1998 Winner(s)
Xiuli Chao, University of Michigan Jim Dai, Cornell University
1996 Winner(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Applied Mathematics Dept Paul Glasserman, Columbia University
1994 Winner(s)
Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business