INFORMS President's Award

2017 - Awardee(s)

2017 Awardee(s)


David Hunt, a manager at Oliver Wyman, has had a 30+ year career implementing operations research solutions in the transportation industry for clients on six continents. David has led public policy efforts in the transportation industry, and he has written several white papers filed with the U.S. Department of Transportation that have helped shape federal transportation regulations, including the first-ever nationwide rail capacity study. His current interest is in applying predictive models to improve transportation safety and reliability. He began his INFORMS involvement in the early 1990’s and has served in many capacities since then, including as President of the New Jersey Chapter of INFORMS, President of the Rail Applications Section, Chair of the INFORMS Subdivision Council, and as a Vice President on the INFORMS Board of Directors. David led the development of the INFORMS Ethics Guidelines in 2016. Most recently he led the effort to create Pro Bono Analytics, a new INFORMS volunteer service that provides support to nonprofit organizations in need of analytics help. At last count, over 450 volunteers have offered their analytical skills to a wide variety of projects for nonprofit organizations working in underserved areas or for underserved populations.

INFORMS is proud to present David Hunt with the INFORMS President’s Award to recognize career achievements that have had a positive societal impact on public policy in the transportation sector and for his extraordinary work with INFORMS including the creation of a new Pro Bono Analytics Service.

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize, and thereby encourage, important contributions to the welfare of society by members of our profession at the local, national, or global level. Achievements suitable for this recognition may be in technical or scientific education or in paid or voluntary consulting or management (commercial, academic, governmental, or nonprofit). The accomplishments honored need not have been documented by personal execution of formal or informal OR/MS studies but could have been reflected in support or promotion of OR/MS efforts. The award is given each year at the National meeting if there is a suitable recipient. The award is a framed certificate with a brief citation.

Award Information

The purpose of this award is to recognize, and thereby encourage, important contributions to the welfare of society by members of our profession at the local, national, or global level.

Click here to learn more about the application process.


2018 Committee Chair:

Nicholas Hall
2018 INFORMS President
Ohio State University

Click here for committee information

Past Awardees

2017 Awardee(s)
David Hunt, Oliver Wyman
2016 Awardee(s)
Gerald G. Brown
2015 Awardee(s)
Jack Levis, UPS
2014 Awardee(s)
András Prékopa, Rutgers University
2013 Awardee(s)
Arthur M. Geoffrion, UCLA, Anderson School of Management
2012 Awardee(s)
Andrés P. Weintraub, CSAV
2011 Awardee(s)
Kenneth R. Chelst, Wayne State University
2010 Awardee(s)
Jonathan P. Caulkins, Carnegie Mellon University
2009 Awardee(s)
Ralph L. Keeney, USC
2008 Awardee(s)
Margaret L. Brandeau, Stanford University, Management Science and Engineering
2007 Awardee(s)
Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
2006 Awardee(s)
Vijay Chandru, Chairman & CEO, Strand Life Sciences
2005 Awardee(s)
William P. Pierskalla
2004 Awardee(s)
William "Al" Wallace , Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Decision Sciences & Engineering Systems
2003 Awardee(s)
Richard C. Larson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 Awardee(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University
2001 Awardee(s)
Seth Bonder, The Bonder Group
2000 Awardee(s)
William W. Hogan
1999 Awardee(s)
Leonard Kleinrock, University of California, Computer Science Dept.
1998 Awardee(s)
Jan M. Chaiken
1997 Awardee(s)
Warren E. Walker, Delft University of Technology
1996 Awardee(s)
Arnold I. Barnett, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management
1995 Awardee(s)
Not Awarded
1994 Awardee(s)
Gerald J. Lieberman, G. Lieberman Consulting LLC Lucius Riccio, Columbia University
1993 Awardee(s)
Alfred Blumstein, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz College