Undergraduate Operations Research Prize

2022 - Winner(s)

2022 Winner(s)

Winning material: For the paper: On the Strength of Lagrangian Duality in Multiobjective Integer Programming

Purpose of the Award

2023 Committee Chair

Sasha Dong
University of Houston

Questions?  Please email christy.blevins@informs.org

Click here for committee information.

The Undergraduate Operations Research Prize Competition is held each year to honor a student or group of students who conducted a significant applied project in operations research or management science, and/or original and important theoretical or applied research in operations research or management science, while enrolled as an undergraduate student. The prize is given each year at the Annual Meeting.

Application Process

The deadline to submit is June 30, 2023 (11:59pm eastern).
Click below to view more information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines.

Learn more about the application process.

Past Awardees

2022 Winner(s)
Matthew Brun, Rice University
2021 Winner(s)
Jisoon Lim, Georgia Institute of Technology
2021 Honorable Mention
David Troxell, Southern Methodist University
2020 Winner(s)
Wes Gurnee, Cornell University
2020 Honorable Mention
Nicholas André G. Johnson, Princeton University
Daniel Yamin, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
2019 Winner(s)
Milan Preet Kaur, Management Engineering (Undergrad), University of Waterloo
2018 Winner(s)
Kayla Cummings, Pomona College (Undergrad)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2017 Winner(s)
Agathe Soret, Ecole Polytechnique Siddharth Reddy, Cornell University
2017 Honorable Mention
Yue Hu, Northwestern University
2017 Finalist
Maria Patiño, Universidad de los Andes Chungjae Lee, Georgia Tech Jason Bermudez, Georgia Tech Kevin Desprez, Georgia Tech Alexander Kehres, Georgia Tech Leah Patterson, Georgia Tech Suphaphat Petlerkwong, Georgia Tech Yuntong Zhu, Georgia Tech Stephanie Allen, The State University of New York at Geneseo
2016 Winner(s)
Joy Chang, University of Michigan
2016 Honorable Mention
Cem Aydın, Koc University Alp Arıbal, Koc University Cansu Erol, Koc University Begum Tuglu, Koc University Hari Bandi, IIT Kharagpur
2016 Finalist
Hale Erkan, Bilkent University Zeynep Yaprak Besik, Bilkent University Başak Erman, Bilkent University Deniz Berfin Karakoc, Bilkent University Yekta Jehat Mizrakli, Bilkent University Umut Mururoglu, Bilkent University Egehan Yanik, Bilkent University Jacob Monroe, North Carolina State University Sameer Manchada, Purdue University Mikaela Meyer, Purdue University
2015 Winner(s)
Magdalena Romero, Universidad Adolfo Ibanez
J. Massey Cashore, Cornell University
Kyle Cunningham, SUNY Buffalo
2015 Honorable Mention
Andy Zheng, Northwestern University
Cagan Urkup, Koc University Ezgi Karakas, Koc University Fehmi Mert Gurel, Koc University Kaan Telciler, Koc University
2015 Finalist
Paige von Achen, Northwestern University
Chao Qin, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Omar El Housni, Columbia University
Pengyu Qian, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities/Peking University
Beril Burcak, Bilkent University Osman Rauf Karaaslan, Bilkent University Ayca Karatape, Bilkent University Alaz Ata Senol, Bilkent University Kaan Yavuz, Bilkent University Hakan Senturk, Bilkent University
2014 Winner(s)
Hongfan Chen, Georgia Tech
2014 Finalist
Binnam Kim, Korea University
Jisu J. Park, Georgia Tech
Chao Qin, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Cheng Hua, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Müberra Özmen, Middle East Technical University Engin Yıldız, Middle East Technical University Gamze Yağız, Middle East Technical University Selen Yıldırım, Middle East Technical University Sıdıka Tunç Candoğan, UCL School of Management
2013 Winner(s)
Frederick Abiprabowo, University of Pennsylvania Napat Harinsuit, University of Pennsylvania Samuel Lim, University of Pennsylvania Willis Zhang, University of Pennsylvania
Nazli Busra Akar, Bilkent University Başak Kepir, Bilkent University Çağıl Koçyiğit, Bilkent University Işıl Koyuncu, Bilkent University Melis Beren Özer, Bilkent University Tunca Turkoglu, Bilkent University
2013 Finalist
Rebecca Swaszek, Lehigh University
Yaileen M. Mendez-Vazquez, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez Kasandra L. Ramires-Rojas, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
2012 Winner(s)
Alice Paul, Harvey Mudd College
2012 Honorable Mention
Alex Ma, Northwestern University
Alex Huang, Northwestern University
Sara Schmidt, Northwestern University
Nancy Xu, Northwestern University
Brandon Zhang, Northwestern University
2011 Winner(s)
Matthew Robinson, United States Military Academy
2011 Honorable Mention
Morgan Doty, Georgia Institute of Technology Bryce Dykes, Georgia Institute of Technology Kathleen Hendrix, Georgia Institute of Technology Ralph Long, Georgia Institute of Technology Dana Lupuloff, Georgia Institute of Technology Doug Meagh, Georgia Institute of Technology Jeffrey Phillips, Georgia Institute of Technology Michael Vallecoccia, Georgia Institute of Technology
2010 Winner(s)
John Silberholz, University of Maryland,
2010 Honorable Mention
Christine Barnett , University of Michigan Kenneth Chu, Cornell University
James M. Davis, Rutgers
Yaniv Ovadia, Harvey Mudd College
James Wade, Georgia Institute of Technology