Student Paper Award

2019 Winner(s)

Winning material: A Spatiotemporal Prediction Approach for A 3D Thermal Field from Sensor Networks

2019 Winner(s)

Winning material: A hierarchical expected improvement method for effective Bayesian optimization

Purpose of the Award

The award is given to the best paper, as judged by a panel of members of the Section, on any topic related to data mining by a student author.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2019 Winner(s)
Di Wang, Peking University Xi Zhang , Peking University Kaibo Liu, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Zhehui Chen, Georgia Institute of Technology Simon Mak C. F. Jeff Wu
2019 Finalist
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management and Operations Research Center Arthur Delarue, MIT Operations Research Center Patrick Jaillet , Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sebastien Martin, MIT Operations Research Center
Gökçe Kahvecioğlu, Northwestern University David Morton, Northwestern University
2015 Winner(s)
Mingdi You, University of Michigan
2015 Finalist
Sam Davanloo Tajbakhsh, Sam Davanloo Tajbakhsh
Murat Yildirim, Georgia Tech
2014 Winner(s)
Hao Yan
2014 Finalist
Jialei Wang
2013 Finalist
Chitta Ranjan, George Institute of Technology Zhaoran Wang, Princeton University Benjamin Letham, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Zhengyi Zhou, Cornell University
2012 First Place
Kaibo Liu, Georgia Tech
2012 Finalist
Yi-Hao Kao, Stanford University
2011 First Place
Kamran Paynabar, University of Michigan
2011 Finalist
Shuai Huang, Arizona State University
Chun-An Chou, University of Michigan
2010 First Place
Jian Guo, University of Michigan
2010 Second Place
Sangheum Hwang, Rutgers University
2010 Third Place
Andrew Trapp, University of Pittsburgh
2009 First Place
Michele Samorani, Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado - Boulder