Frank P. Ramsey Medal

Nomination Deadline: June 15, 2021

2020 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

2021 Prize Chair

Karen Jenni

The Frank P. Ramsey medal is awarded for distinguished contributions in decision analysis. Distinguished contributions can be internal, such as theoretical or procedural advances in decision analysis, or external, such as developing or spreading decision analysis in new fields. The specific award criteria for evaluating potential Ramsey Medal recipients are a candidate's:

  • Theoretical, methodological, and procedural contributions to decision analysis
  • Applications of decision analysis (including new uses and in new fields)
  • Other contributions promoting decision analysis (e.g. educational and public awareness)
  • Exceptional contributions to the Decision Analysis Society (e.g. service to society or journal)

A potential recipient need not meet all of the criteria, but contributions to each criterion are pertinent.

For this award, decision analysis is defined as a prescriptive approach to provide insight for decision making based on axioms that are logically consistent with the axioms of von Neumann and Morgenstern and of Savage. Key constructs of decision analysis are utility to quantify one’s preferences and probability to quantify the state of one's knowledge.

There are overlapping aspects of decision analysis with other fields such as behavioral decision research, probabilistic risk analysis, and engineering and economic analyses. Behavioral decision research addressing how people make decisions that has direct implications for improving the practice of decision analysis is a contribution to decision analysis. Models of uncertain possible consequences from scientific, engineering, and economic modeling that are useful for decision analysis are contributions.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Frank Plumpton Ramsey was the first to express an operational theory of decision-making based on the dual, intertwining notions of judgmental probability and utility. In his essay "truth and Probability" in 1926, Ramsey adopted what is now termed the decision-theoretic point of view. To Ramsey, probability was an expression of a degree of belief interpreted as operationally meaningful in terms of a willingness to act based on that belief...

Learn more about Frank Plumpton Ramsey »

Past Awardees

2020 Winner(s)
Milton Weinstein, Harvard University, School of Public Health
2019 Winner(s)
Raimo P. Hämäläinen, Aalto University School of Science
2018 Awardee(s)
Max Henrion, Lumina Decision Systems
2017 Winner(s)
Simon French
2016 Awardee(s)
Vicki Bier
2015 Awardee(s)
L. Robin Keller, University of California - Irvine, Paul Merage School of Business
2014 Awardee(s)
Gregory S. Parnell
2013 Awardee(s)
Peter P. Wakker, Erasmus University
2012 Awardee(s)
Robert T. Clemen, Duke University
2011 Awardee(s)
Don N. Kleinmuntz
2010 Awardee(s)
Elisabeth Paté-Cornell , Stanford University
2009 Awardee(s)
Rakesh Sarin, University of California - Los Angeles
2008 Awardee(s)
James E. Smith, Duke University
2007 Awardee(s)
Craig W. Kirkwood, Dept. of Supply Chain Management, Arizona State University
2006 Awardee(s)
Daniel Kahneman, Princeton University
Amos Tversky, Stanford University
2005 Awardee(s)
Lawrence D. Phillips, Facilitations Limited
2004 Awardee(s)
Carl S. Spetzler, Strategic Decisions Group
2003 Awardee(s)
R. Duncan Luce, University of California - Irvine
2002 Awardee(s)
James S. Dyer, University of Texas - Austin
2001 Awardee(s)
David E. Bell, Harvard University
2000 Awardee(s)
Detlof von Winterfeldt, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis
1999 Awardee(s)
John W. Pratt, Harvard Business School
1997 Awardee(s)
D. Warner North, NorthWorks Inc.
1996 Awardee(s)
Irving H. LaValle, Tulane University
1995 Awardee(s)
James E. Matheson, SmartOrg Inc.
1992 Awardee(s)
Robert Schlaifer, Harvard University
1990 Awardee(s)
Robert L. Winkler, Duke University
1989 Awardee(s)
Ralph L. Keeney, USC
1988 Awardee(s)
Ward Edwards, University of Southern California
1987 Awardee(s)
Peter C. Fishburn
1986 Awardee(s)
Ronald A. Howard, Stanford University, Dept. of Management Science & Engineering
1985 Awardee(s)
Howard Raiffa, Harvard University, Graduate School of Business Administration