ICS Student Paper Award

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Optimized Dimensionality Reduction for Moment-based Distributionally Robust Optimization

Purpose of the Award

The ICS Student Paper Award is given annually to the best paper at the interface of computing and operations research by a student author, as judged by the award selection committee. 

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Shiyi Jiang , Hong Kong Polytechnic
2023 Runner-Up
Mohammadhossein Mohammadisiahroudi , Lehigh University
2022 Winner(s)
Irina Wang , Princeton University
2022 Runner-Up
Peijing Liu, University of Southern California
2021 Winner(s)
Aras Selvi, Imperial College
2021 Runner-Up
Yongchun Li, Virginia Tech
2020 Winner(s)
Tyler Perini, Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Honorable Mention
Hussein Hazimeh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prateek R. Srivastava, University of Texas at Ausin
2020 Runner-Up
Margarita Paz Castro, University of Toronto
2019 Winner(s)
Ryan Cory-Wright , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jean Pauphilet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2019 Runner-Up
Sebastián Pérez-Salazar, Georgia Tech
Liyan Xie, Georgia Tech
2018 Winner(s)
Aleksandr M. Kazachkov, Carnegie Mellon University
2018 Runner-Up
Colin P. Gillen, University of Pittsburgh
Christopher Lourenco, Texas A&M University
2017 Winner(s)
Berk Ustun , Harvard University
2017 Runner-Up
Rui Gao, UT Austin Christian Kroer, Carnegie Mellon University Hamed Rahimian, The Ohio State University
2016 Winner(s)
Georgina Hall, INSEAD
2016 Runner-Up
Terrence Mak, Australian National University
Hadi Charkhgard, University of Newcastle
2015 First Place
Young Woong Park, Northwestern University
2015 Runner-Up
Xiao Liu, The Ohio State University
Leonardo Lozano, Clemson University
Jorge Sefair, University of Florida
2014 First Place
Andre A. Cire, Carnegie Mellon University
2014 Runner-Up
Kalyani Nagaraj, Virginia Tech
2013 First Place
Jing Xie, Cornell University
2013 Runner-Up
Rodrigo Carrasco, Columbia University
2012 First Place
Huashuai Qu, University of Maryland
2012 Runner-Up
Martin Takáč, School of Mathematics, University of Edinburgh, UK
2011 First Place
Susan Hunter, Virginia Tech
2010 First Place
Yongqiang Wang, University of Maryland
2010 Runner-Up
Siqian Shen, University of Florida
Necdet Aybat, Columbia University
2009 First Place
Zaiwen Wen, Columbia University
2009 Runner-Up
Mehmet A. Begen, University of Western Ontario
Richard Ivey School of Business
Peter Frazier, Princeton University
2008 First Place
Guanghui Lan, Georgia Institute of Technology
2007 First Place
Amit Partani, The University of Texas at Austin
2007 Runner-Up
Richa Agarwal, Amazon.com
Andrea Bettinelli, University of Milan
2006 First Place
Geng Deng, University of Wisconsin - Madison
2006 Runner-Up
Laura Albert, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jiaquiao Hu, University of Maryland