Distinguished Fellow Award Application Process

Nominators are encouraged to provide the awards committee with specific indicators of the nominee's contributions in these and other categories.

An Awards Committee has been formed to recommend candidates for the award for 2015. The committee members are Ravi Bapna (chair, ex officio-ISS), Izak Benbasat, V. Sambamurthy and Sumit Sarkar. At this stage, nominations for the award are invited from the information systems community at large. Though self-nominations are discouraged, anyone can submit a nomination to the chair of the awards committee by email to: dsarppo@umn.edu (please state the subject as “Nomination for 2015 ISS Fellow”). The deadline for submission of nominations is July 30, 2015.

The nomination should include a brief (not to exceed two pages) description of the candidate’s achievements and eligibility for the award, and should be accompanied with a CV and/or a bio. Members of the awards committee may add other candidates at their discretion and judgment.

The awards committee will deliberate upon the pool of nominees and make recommendations to the Chair of the Information Systems Society. Winners of the award will be informed by September 15, 2015. The 2015 ISS Distinguished Fellows will be announced during the Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST) to be held in conjunction with the INFORMS annual meeting in Philadelphia. A plaque and a letter from the society will be presented, followed by a reception and felicitation of the award winners.

It is a condition of the award that the Fellows be members of the Information Systems Society, and, except for unusual circumstances approved by the Chair of ISS, remain members of the Society until they retire from full-time work.