Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military Applications

2018 - Awardee(s)

2018 Awardee(s)

Purpose of the Award

Seth Bonder Logo The purpose of the Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military Applications is to promote the development and application of process modeling and operations research analyses to military issues. The scholarship provides funding of $5,000 ($US) to support the development of highly qualified individuals and promote the interchange of military OR research knowledge in conjunction with INFORMS.

The Bonder Scholarship consists of a grant of $4,000 ($US) that is intended to provide financial support for a promising new researcher. In addition, the award winner will be eligible for up to $1,000 ($US) of travel funding to support their participation in Military Application Society activities at the annual INFORMS conference. An additional $2,000 ($US) grant is provided and funded by the Seth Bonder Foundation.  INFORMS will waive registration fees for awardees. The tenure of the award is one year.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines

Submission Deadline: July 1, 2018

Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Military Applications

Dr. Seth Bonder was the founder and CEO of Vector Research, Incorporated (VRI) for 31 years, a company recognized for its quality and innovations in applying OR/MS to public and private sector enterprises..

Learn more about Seth Bonder »


2018 Committee Chair

Chris Arney

Past Awardees

2018 Awardee(s)
Phillip R. Jenkins
2017 Winner(s)
Lee Evans
2016 Winner(s)
Isaac Faber
2015 Winner(s)
Ross Schuchard, ARCYBER / George Mason University
2014 Winner(s)
Jason Southerland, George Mason University
2013 Awardee(s)
Nathaniel D. Bastian, The Pennsylvania State University
2012 Awardee(s)
Mehmet Ertem
2011 Awardee(s)
James F. Morris, Air Force Institute of Technology
2010 Awardee(s)
David Myers
2009 Awardee(s)
David Caswell, Air Force Institute of Technology
2008 Awardee(s)
Irina Dolinskaya, University of Michigan
2007 Awardee(s)
Kuo-Hao Chang, Purdue University
2006 Awardee(s)
Sang-Hyun Kim, University of Pennsylvania
2005 Awardee(s)
Subhashini Ganapathy, Wright State University
2004 Awardee(s)
Amanda Muller, Wright State University
2003 Awardee(s)
Marc A. Thibault, George Mason University
2002 Awardee(s)
Noah Joseph Richmond, Stanford University