Optimization Society Farkas Prize

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Farkas Prize of the INFORMS Optimization Society was established in 2006 and is awarded annually at the fall INFORMS Annual Meeting to a mid-career researcher for outstanding contributions to the field of optimization, over the course of their career. Such contributions could include papers (published or submitted and accepted), books, monographs, and software. The awardee will be within 25 years of their terminal degree as of January 1 of the year of the award. The prize serves as an esteemed recognition of colleagues in the middle of their career.

The award includes a cash amount of $3,000 and a citation certificate. The award winner(s) will be invited to give a twenty-five minute presentation at the fall INFORMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award. The winner will be responsible for all travel expenses associated with attending the INFORMS meeting.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Gyula Farkas

Gyula (Julius) Farkas was a famous Hungarian mathematician and theoretical physicist, whose name is best known to optimizers and O.R. specialists because of his theory of linear inequalities. He also obtained fundamental results in analytical mechanics in that he gave necessary condition for the equilibrium of a mechanical system, where the states are constrained by inequalities...

Learn more about Gyula Farkas

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Alper Atamturk, University of California - Berkeley
2022 Winner(s)
Amir Beck, Tel-Aviv University
2021 Winner(s)
Andrea Lodi, Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute, Cornell Tech and Technion, USA, and CERC, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada
2020 Winner(s)
Jesús A. De Loera, University of California, Davis
2019 Winner(s)
Katya Scheinberg, Cornell University
2018 Awardee(s)
Shabbir Ahmed , Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 Winner(s)
Kim-Chuan Toh
2016 Awardee(s)
Sven Leyffer
2015 Awardee(s)
Robert Weismantel
2014 Awardee(s)
Farid Alizadeh
2013 Awardee(s)
Pablo A. Parrilo
2012 Awardee(s)
Michel Goemans
2011 Awardee(s)
Andrew Goldberg
2010 Awardee(s)
Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo, University of Minnesota
2008 Awardee(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management and Operations Research Center
2006 Awardee(s)
Yinyu Ye, Stanford University, Department of Management Science & Engineering