Optimization Society Khachiyan Prize

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Khachiyan Prize of the INFORMS Optimization Society was established in 2010 and is awarded annually at the fall INFORMS Annual Meeting to an individual or a team for life-time achievements in the area of optimization. The award recognizes a sustained career of scholarship from nominees who are still active at the year of the nomination. The prize serves as an esteemed recognition of innovativeness and impact in the area of optimization, including theory and applications. Recipients of the INFORMS John von Neumann Theory Prize or the MPS/SIAM Dantzig Prize in prior years are not eligible for the Khachiyan Prize.

The award includes a cash amount of $3,000 and a citation certificate. The award winner(s) will be invited to give a thirty minute presentation at the fall INFORMS Annual Meeting in the year the award is given. The winners will be responsible for all travel expenses associated with the presentation of their paper at the INFORMS meeting.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Using the ellipsoid algorithm, in 1979, Leonid Khachiyan was the first to prove that linear optimization can be solved in polynomial time. Read more about Leonid Khachiyan and the importance of his work in optimization.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Monique Laurent, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI) Renato D.C. Monteiro, Georgia Institute of Technology
2022 Winner(s)
Daniel Bienstock, Columbia University David B Shmoys, Cornell University
2021 Winner(s)
Boris Polyak, Institute for Control Science, Russian Academy of Sciences
2020 Winner(s)
James B. Orlin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Stephen J. Wright, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2019 Winner(s)
Masakazu Kojima, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Dept. of Mathematics & Computer Science
2018 Awardee(s)
John N. Hooker, Carnegie Mellon University
James Renegar, Cornell University Werner Römisch, Humboldt University
2017 Winner(s)
Robert J. Vanderbei, Princeton University
2016 Awardee(s)
Aharon Ben-Tal
2015 Awardee(s)
Jean Bernard Lasserre, CNRS, France
2014 Awardee(s)
Dimitri P. Bertsekas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Clóvis C. Gonzaga
2013 Awardee(s)
Alexander Shapiro Donald Goldfarb, Columbia University
2012 Awardee(s)
András Prékopa, Rutgers University
2010 Awardee(s)
George L. Nemhauser, Georgia Institute of Technology, Dept. of Industrial & Systems Engineering