Optimization Society Student Paper Prize

Nomination deadline: June 15, 2017

2017 Winner(s)

Winning material: Duality in Two-Stage Adaptive Linear Optimization: Faster Computation and Stronger Bounds

Purpose of the Award

2017 Prize Chair

Vineet Goyal
Columbia University

The INFORMS Optimization Society Student Paper Prize, established in 2006 and administered by the Optimization Society of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, is awarded annually at the INFORMS Annual Meeting to one (or more) students for the most outstanding paper in optimization that is submitted to and received, or published in a refereed professional journal no more than three years before the closing date of nomination. The nominee/applicant must be a student on the first of January of the year of application/nomination The prize serves as an esteemed recognition of promising students who are looking for an academic or industrial career.

The award includes a cash amount of USD $1,000 and a citation certificate. The award winners will be invited to give a fifteen minute presentation of the winning paper at the Optimization Society Business Meeting held during the INFORMS Annual Meeting in the year the award is made. It is expected that the winners will be responsible for the travel expenses to present the paper at the INFORMS meeting.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2017 Winner(s)
Frans J. C. T. de Ruiter, Tilburg University
2017 Honorable Mention
Will Ma, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2016 Winner(s)
Gonzalo Munoz, Columbia University
2016 Honorable Mention
Hamza Fawzi
2015 Winner(s)
Paul Grigas
2015 Honorable Mention
Ruoyu Sun, University of Minnesota
Shimrit Shtern, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2014 Winner(s)
Damek Davis
2013 Winner(s)
Afonso S. Bandeira
2012 Winner(s)
Diego A. MorĂ¡n R.
2011 Winner(s)
Daniel Dadush, Georgia Institute of Technology Santanu Dey, Purdue University Juan Pablo Vielma, University of Pittsburgh
2010 Winner(s)
Shiqian Ma, Columbia University
2009 Winner(s)
Dan Andrei Iancu, Operations Research Center, MIT