Best Student Paper

Purpose of the Award

The Quality Statistics and Reliability (QSR) Section of INFORMS announces the Best Student Paper Award to recognize excellence among its student members. The award program brings prestige to the QSR Section as well as to the recipients honored.

Four finalists for the Best Student Paper Award will be selected to make presentations at the INFORMS Annual Meeting. The winner will be announced at the QSR business meeting later at the conference.  All finalists will receive an award certificate and 3 years free QSR membership. The winner will also receive a plaque. The Best Student Paper Award is to be presented annually at the QSR Section meeting during the INFORMS annual meeting. All finalists’ papers will be posted on the QSR Section webpage. 

Application process:

 Click here for more information.

Past Awardees

2022 Finalist
Yingyan Zeng, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Zihan Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
Chengyu Zhou, North Carolina State University
Henry Shaowu Yuchi, Georgia Institute of Technology
2021 Winner(s)
Enrique del Castillo, The Pennsylvania State University Xueqi Zhao, The Pennsylvania State University
2021 Finalist
Yinan Wang, Virginia Tech Kaiwen Wang, Virginia Tech Wenjun Cai, Virginia Tech Xiaowei Yue, Georgia Institute of Technology
Hui Wu, Tsinghua University Yan-Fu Li, Tsinghua University Amirhossein Fallahdizcheh, University of Iowa Chao Wang, University of Iowa
2020 Winner(s)
Jialei Chen, Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Finalist
Ruiyu Xu, Peking University
Zhehui Chen, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ziyue Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
2019 Winner(s)
Zhen Zhong, Georgia Institute of Technology
2019 Finalist
Xiao Huang, Texas A&M University
Liyan Xie, Georgia Tech
Rajitha Meka, University of Texas at San Antonio
2018 Winner(s)
Raquel de Souza Borges Ferreira, Purdue University
Shuang Li, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ruizhi Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
2018 Finalist
Anh Tuan Bui, Northwestern University
2016 Winner(s)
Simon Mak
2015 Winner(s)
Yanjun Qian
2015 Finalist
Kaveh Bastani
2013 Winner(s)
Linmiao Zhang
2013 Finalist
Lulu Bao
2012 Winner(s)
Matthew Plumlee, Georgia Institute of Technology
2012 Finalist
Linkan Bian
2011 Finalist
Shan Ba
Shuai Huang, Arizona State University
2010 Winner(s)
Qiang Zhou , University of Wisconsin at Madison
2009 Winner(s)
Lulu Kang, Georgia Institute of Technology
2009 Finalist
Li Zeng, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2008 Winner(s)
Abhishek K. Shrivastava , Texas A&M University
2007 Winner(s)
Haifeng Heidi Xia, Texas A&M University
2007 Finalist
Alaa Elwany, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ying Hung, Georgia Institute of Technology
Xuemei Shan, Northwestern University
2006 Winner(s)
Jing Zhong, University of Michigan
2006 Finalist
Tirthankar Dasgupta, Georgia Institute of Technology
Lingyan Ruan, Georgia Institute of Technology
Tao Yuan, University of Tennessee
2005 Winner(s)
Zhiguang Qian, Georgia Institute of Technology
2005 Finalist
Jung Jin Cho, Texas A&M University
Xuelei Ni, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sarintip Satitsatian, University of Washington
2004 Winner(s)
Abhyuday Mandal, Georgia Institute of Technology
2004 Finalist
Chang-Ho Chin, Texas A&M University
Shwu-Tzy Jiang, University of Oklahoma
Zhen Lian , Cornell
2003 Winner(s)
Hong Wan, Northwestern University
2003 First Place
Haitao Liao, Rutgers University
2003 Finalist
Myong K. Jeong, Georgia Institute of Technology
Pansoo Kim, Texas A&M University
2002 Winner(s)
Wenzhen Huang, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2002 Finalist
Jun Bai, Rutgers University
Hyun-Woo Cho, Pohang University of Science and Technology
Carla Vivacqua, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2001 Winner(s)
Yong Chen, University of Michigan
2001 Finalist
Roshan Joseph, University of Michigan Rong Pan, Pennsylvania State University Charles Ribardo, The Ohio State University Wenbiao Zhao, Rutgers University