Student Paper Award

2020 First Place

Winning material: An Exact Method for Integrated Optimization of Subway Operation Strategy with Asymmetric Passenger Demands and Operating Costs

Purpose of the Award

The student paper contest is intended to stimulate interest in OR/MS applications to railways, and to encourage students to pursue an education in railway applications.The methodologies of OR/MS include mathematical programming, simulation, analytics, data analysis, and scientific management. The focus in RAS and INFORMS is the management of technology, resources, and service delivery.

Application Process

For more information, please click here.

Past Awardees

2020 First Place
Pengli Mo , Beijing Jiaotong University
2020 Second Place
Rowan Hoogervorst, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2020 Third Place
Nuannuan Leng, ETH Zürich
2019 First Place
Christopher Szymula, Delft University of Technology Technische Universität Dresden
2019 Second Place
Yuxin He, City University of Hong Kong

2019 Third Place
Yongxiang Zhang, Southwest Jiaotong University
Gert-Jaap Polinder, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2018 First Place
Fei Yan, Technical University of Delft
2018 Second Place
Rolf N. van Lieshout, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2018 Third Place
Manuel Fuentes , Technical University of Madrid
2017 First Place
Thomas Breugem, Erasmus University
2017 Second Place
Sofie Van Thielen, KU Leuven
2017 Third Place
Pan Shang, Tsinghua University
2016 First Place
Joris Wagenaar, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
2016 Second Place
Fabrizio Cerreto
2016 Third Place
Chao Lu
2015 First Place
Nikola Bešinović, Delft University of Technology
2015 Second Place
Joris Wagenaar, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
2015 Third Place
Shuguang Zhan, Southwest Jiaotong University
2014 First Place
Tie Shi, School of Transportation and Logistics, Southwest Jiaotong University
2014 Second Place
Xiaojie Luan, School of Traffic and Transportation, Beijing Jiaotong University
2014 Third Place
Joris Wagenaar, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
2013 First Place
Yutian Yang, University of Texas at Austin
2012 First Place
Xiaoyan Si , University of Texas at Austin
2011 First Place
Yazhe Feng, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2011 Second Place
Conrado Borraz-Sanchez, Northwestern University
2011 Third Place
Fan Peng, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2011 Honorable Mention
Mor Kaspi
2010 First Place
Twan Dollevoet, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2010 Second Place
Lingyun Meng, Beijing Jiaotong University
2009 First Place
Endong Zhu, University of Montreal
2009 Second Place
Ashish Nemani, University of Florida
2009 Honorable Mention
Rodrigo Acuna Agost
2008 First Place
Lars Kjær Nielsen, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2008 Second Place
Daniel Potthoff, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2008 Honorable Mention
Muhammad Babar Khan, Southwest Jiaotong University, P.R. China
2007 First Place
Andrea D'Ariano, Delft University Francesco Corman, Delft University
2007 Second Place
Ashish Nemani, University of Florida
2005 First Place
Pieter Vansteenwegen, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
2005 Second Place
Johanna Törnquist, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
2005 Honorable Mention
Soheil Sibdari, University of Massachusetts
2004 First Place
Michiel J. Vromans, Rotterdam School of Management
2004 Second Place
Guvenc Sahin, University of Florida
2004 Honorable Mention
Amar Kumar Narisetty, Amar Kumar Narisetty
2003 First Place
Krishna C. Jha, University of Florida
2003 Second Place
Xuesong Zhou, University of Maryland Ming Zhong, University of Maryland
2003 Honorable Mention
Jian Liu, University of Florida
Steven Harrod, University of Cincinnati
2002 First Place
Jian Liu, University of Florida
Ramon M. Lentink, Erasmus University Dennis Huisman, Erasmus University
2002 Second Place
Jodelson Sabino, Federal University of Espirito Santo