Student Best Paper Award

2022 Winner(s)

Winning material: Efficient Simulation of Polyhedral Expectations with Applications to Finance

Purpose of the Award

The objectives of the section are to provide a continuing, specialized focus within INFORMS on the topic of financial services, with the aim of identifying current and potential problems and contributions to their solutions; to lead in the development, dissemination, and implementation of knowledge, basic and applied research and technologies in the area of finance and financial services; and to promote high professional standards and integrity in all work done in the field.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2022 Winner(s)
Lewen Zheng, Chinese University of Hong Kong
2022 Second Place
Ling Qin, National University of Singapore
2022 Third Place
Jinghai He, UC Berkeley
2021 Winner(s)
Ruizhe Jia, Columbia University
2021 Honorable Mention
2020 Winner(s)
 Michael Mark  , Ecole Polytechnique F´ed´erale de Lausanne
2020 Honorable Mention
Rohit Arora  , University of Texas
2019 First Place
Humoud Alsabah Shuaijie Qian
2019 Honorable Mention
Rowena Gan
2018 First Place
Philippe Casgrain
2018 Honorable Mention
Zhaoli Jiang
2017 First Place
Allen Cheng
2017 Second Place
Yi Zhang
2016 First Place
Shomesh Chaudhuri
2016 Second Place
Likuan Qin
2015 First Place
Chi Seng Pun
2015 Second Place
Dohyun Ahn
2015 Honorable Mention
Richard Neuberg
2014 First Place
Xin Li, Columbia University
2014 Second Place
Dong-Young Lim, KAIST
2014 Honorable Mention
Yang Dong, Lehigh University
2013 First Place
Jingnan Chen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2013 Second Place
Xiaobo Li, Singapore University of Technology and Design
2013 Honorable Mention
Zhe (David) Zhu, MIT
2012 First Place
Qihang Lin
2012 Second Place
Sandun C. Perera
2011 First Place
Mehmet Saglam, Columbia Business School
2011 Second Place
Haowen Zhong, Columbia University
2010 First Place
Michael Padilla, Stanford University
2010 Second Place
Xiangwei Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
2010 Honorable Mention
Waraporn Tongprasit, Stanford University
2009 First Place
Ming Liu, Northwestern University
2009 Second Place
Romain Deguest, Columbia University Yu Hang Kan, Columbia University
2007 First Place
Premal Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2007 Second Place
Ning Cai, Columbia University
Xin Zhang, University of Tennessee
2007 Honorable Mention
Mehmet Saglam, Columbia Business School
Haleh Valian, Rutgers University
2006 First Place
Amit Bhandari, Northwestern University
2006 Second Place
Nan Chen, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Ashish Jain, Columbia Business School
2005 First Place
Peter J. Meindl , Stanford University James A. Primbs, Stanford University
2005 Second Place
I-Hsuan Chiang, Boston College
Zhoujuan Zhang, Princeton University
2004 First Place
Lepeng Li, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2004 Second Place
Aytac Ilhan, The University of Oxford
Xiaodong Xu, Northwestern University
2004 Honorable Mention
Tridib Bandyopadhyay, University of Texas at Dallas