Chuck ReVelle Rising Star Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

This award is a biannual honor awarded to a person within eight years of receiving his or her Ph.D. who has made a significant contribution to location analysis research and displays the potential to continue to do so. The award is generally given every other year at the SOLA business meeting at the national INFORMS conference.

The committee will consider all contributions to the field of locational analysis when choosing a winner of the award. While research will carry the most significant weight (and will be assessed using multiple dimensions--number and significance of papers, book chapters, presentations, etc.), contributions to teaching and service will be taken into account as well. The committee will also strongly consider the nominee's potential to continue to do research that has a significant impact on the field of locational analysis.

The award does not carry a monetary prize but is regarded as an extremely high honor within the locational analysis community. In addition, the winner will be given a complimentary registration to the INFORMS conference in the year following the award.

The award is named in honor of location analysis pioneer Charles ReVelle, who passed away in 2005.


Application process:

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Kayse Maass, University of Michigan Student Chapter Barış Yıldız, Bilkent University
2021 Awardee(s)
Wei Qi, McGill University
Ran Wei, University of California, Riverside
2017 Awardee(s)
Sibel Alumur Alev, University of Waterloo
2015 Awardee(s)
Ivan Contreras, Concordia University
2010 Awardee(s)
Larry Snyder, Lehigh University
2008 Awardee(s)
Zuo-Jun (Max) Shen, University of California, Berkeley