SOLA Dissertation Award

2018 Winner(s)

Winning material: Relay Location in Telecommunications and Transportation Networks

2018 Winner(s)

Winning material: Multi-Level Facility Location Problems

Purpose of the Award

A competition for the annual dissertation prize on location related research. The winners will be invited to present their work in a special session during the INFORMS Annual Meeting where the prizes will be awarded.

Application Process

For more information, please click here.

Past Awardees

2018 Winner(s)
Barış Yıldız, Bilkent University
Camilo Ortiz-Astorquiza, Concordia University
2018 Runner-Up
Kayse Maass, University of Michigan Student Chapter
2016 Winner(s)
Kien Trung Nguyen, Kaiserslautern University of Technology
Markus Sinnl, University of Vienna
2016 Honorable Mention
Fan Jia, University of Minnesota
2014 Winner(s)
Gemma Berenguer, University of California-Berkeley
2014 Honorable Mention
Gina Galindo, SUNY-Buffalo
Hans-Peter Ziegler, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
2012 First Place
Gisela Bardossy , University of Maryland
2012 Honorable Mention
Federico Liberatore, University of Kent
2009 First Place
Sebastian Velten, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
2009 Finalist
Michael Lim, University of California, Berkeley
Ho-Yin Mak, University of California-Berkeley
2007 First Place
Boglarka Toth, University of Almeria
2007 Finalist
Elrem Alper Murat, McGill University
Roger Lezhou Zhan, University of Florida
2005 First Place
Beryl Castello, Johns Hopkins University
2005 Finalist
Qi Liu, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Leyla Ozsen, Northwestern University
2003 First Place
Monica Gentili, Universita Di Roma, Italy
2003 Finalist
Patricia Dominguez-Marin, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
Lawrence Snyder , Northwestern University
2001 First Place
Bahar Yetis Kara, Bilkent University
1999 First Place
David R. Mazu, Johns Hopkins University
1999 Second Place
Susan Hesse Owen, Northwestern University
1999 Third Place
James W. George, Johns Hopkins University
1995 First Place
Ana Isabel Martins Botto de Barros, Erasmus Universiteit
1993 First Place
Russell D. Meller, University of Michigan
1993 Second Place
Shiv Kumar, Stanford University
1993 Third Place
Terri Anne Johnson, Clemson University
1993 Honorable Mention
John Cooper Fortney, University of Iowa
1992 First Place
Ingrid Bongartz, University of Waterloo
1992 Second Place
Karen Aardal, University Catholique de Louvain
1992 Third Place
Dilip Chhajed, Purdue University
1991 First Place
Fernando Mata, The Ohio State University
1991 Runner-Up
Eric Kosiba, Purdue University
Shuzhong Zhang, Erasmus University