Distinguished Service Award

2022 Awardee(s)

Purpose of the Award

To recognize individuals who have provided long-standing, exceptional service to the simulation community, the INFORMS Simulation Society annually sponsors a Distinguished Service Award, given to at most one person each year. This award is for sustained service to the simulation community over at least fifteen to twenty years or longer, and acquitted with distinction. The concept of service for this award does not include teaching or research contributions. Areas of volunteer service include, for example: (i) elected offices in simulation societies; (ii) editorial responsibilities such as area editor or editor-in-chief, for simulation; (iii) responsibilities such as program chair, proceedings editor, general chair, or member of the program or organizing committee, for conferences involving simulation; (iv) appointed positions for simulation-related activities, such as newsletter editor or serving on committees; and (v) undertakings and actions that promote simulation.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2022 Awardee(s)
Loo Hay Lee
2021 Awardee(s)
Theresa Roeder
2020 Awardee(s)
Christos Alexopoulos
2019 Awardee(s)
Susan M. Sanchez
2018 Awardee(s)
Michael Fu, University of Maryland, College Park
2017 Awardee(s)
John Fowler
2016 Awardee(s)
Douglas Morrice
2015 Awardee(s)
Enver Yücesan
2014 Awardee(s)
Jeffrey A. Joines
2011 Awardee(s)
Pierre L'Ecuyer
2010 Awardee(s)
Peter D. Welch, Walpole Software, Columbia University
2008 Awardee(s)
Russell Barton, Pennsylvania State University
2007 Awardee(s)
Russell C.H. Cheng, University of Southampton
2006 Awardee(s)
not given
2005 Awardee(s)
Deborah A. Sadowski, Rockwell Software
2003 Awardee(s)
Barry L. Nelson, Northwestern University
2002 Awardee(s)
David Goldsman, Georgia Institute of Technology
2000 Awardee(s)
Felix Breitenecker
1999 Awardee(s)
Jerry Banks, Georgia Institute of Technology
1998 Awardee(s)
W. David Kelton, University of Cincinnati
1997 Awardee(s)
Bruce Schmeiser, Purdue University
1996 Awardee(s)
Thomas J. Schriber, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
1995 Awardee(s)
James R. Wilson, North Carolina State University
1994 Awardee(s)
Stephen D. Roberts
1993 Awardee(s)
not given
1992 Awardee(s)
not given
1991 Awardee(s)
A. Alan B. Pritsker, Purdue University
1990 Awardee(s)
George Fishman, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
1989 Awardee(s)
Harold Joseph Highland
1988 Awardee(s)
Robert G. Sargent, Syracuse University
1987 Awardee(s)
Richard E. Nance, Orca Computer Incorporated
1986 Awardee(s)
John McLeod