Best Dissertation Award

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Imposing Connectivity In Network Design Problems

Purpose of the Award

The Dissertation Award is sponsored by the Robert H. School of Business at the University of Maryland and recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements of young people in the field. The award consists of a plaque and a $1,000 cash prize. The INFORMS Section on Telecommunications provides a forum in which researchers exchange experiences and ideas for innovative network planning, operation and management. From a methodological perspective, research reported by the membership uses a variety of optimization, simulation and stochastic models. The biggest strength of the INFORMS Telecommunications Section is its membership. It has an ideal representation from both industry and academia. Consequently, the group reflects both practical, as well as theoretical interests, thus making it a vibrant OR forum for application. The winner will be awarded $1000, to be presented at the Telecommunications Conference.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Hamidreza Validi, Rice University
2020 Winner(s)
Lei You, Uppsala Universitet
2020 Runner-Up
Tiandong Wang , Cornell University
Hossein Badri , Wayne State University
2018 Winner(s)
Martim Joyce-Moniz, Université Libre de Bruxelles
2018 Finalist
Marco Premoli, Università Degli Studi di Milano
Lei Lei, Linköping University
2014 Winner(s)
Manuel Kutschka, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
2012 Winner(s)
Young Myoung Ko, Texas A&M University
2010 First Place
Fabio D'Andreagiovanni, Sapienza - Università di Roma
2009 First Place
Brian Fifarek, Carnegie Mellon University
2009 Second Place
Philipp Tuertscher
2008 First Place
Johan S.H. van Leeuwaarden, Eindhoven University of Technology
Andreas Bley, Technical University Berlin
2008 Honorable Mention
Adam Wierman, Carnegie Mellon University
2006 First Place
Ramesh Johari, Stanford University
2006 Honorable Mention
Nicolas E. Stier-Moses, Columbia University
Shekhar Srivastava, University of Missouri, Kansas City
Kevin Ross, Stanford University
Deepak Rajan, IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Tolga Bektas, Bilkent University
2004 First Place
Alexander Hall, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
2004 Honorable Mention
María Belén Melián Batista, Universidad de La Laguna
Sean P. Gorman, George Mason University
2002 First Place
Andreas Eisenblätter, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum (KZZ) für Informationstechnik in Berlin, Germany
Fan Zhang, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research Department, Columbia University
2002 Honorable Mention
Andrew Ross, Industrial and Systems Engineering Department at Lehigh University