Robert Herman Lifetime Achievement Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Robert Herman Lifetime Achievement Award in Transportation Science is awarded by the INFORMS Transportation Science and Logistics Section to an individual who throughout his or her professional career has made fundamental and sustained contributions to transportation science and logistics, and has influenced the field through her or his writings, teaching, service, and nurturing of younger professionals. 

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

About the Award/Namesake

Robert Herman Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert Herman was born in the Bronx area of New York City on August 29, 1914. He graduated cum laude with special honors in physics from the City College of New York in 1935, and in 1940 was awarded master's and doctoral degrees in physics from Princeton University in the area of molecular spectroscopy...

Learn more about Robert Herman »

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Hani Mahmassani, Northwestern University
2021 Awardee(s)
Warren Powell, Princeton University
2019 Winner(s)
Bruce L. Golden, University of Maryland, Robert H. Smith School of Business
2017 Winner(s)
Moshe Ben-Akiva, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2015 Awardee(s)
Michel Gendreau, École Polytechnique de Montréal
2013 Awardee(s)
Carlos F. Daganzo, University of California-Berkeley
2011 Awardee(s)
Nathan Gartner
2009 Awardee(s)
Gilbert Laporte, École des Hautes Études Commerciales Montréal
2007 Awardee(s)
Michael Smith, University of York
2005 Awardee(s)
Paolo Toth, University of Bologna
2003 Awardee(s)
David E. Boyce
2001 Awardee(s)
Amedeo R. Odoni, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1998 Awardee(s)
Michael Florian
1996 Awardee(s)
Denos Gazis
1994 Awardee(s)
Martin J. Beckmann
1990 Awardee(s)
Robert Herman, University of Texas-Austin