TSL Dissertation Prize

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Fair and Risk-Averse Resource Allocation in Transportation Systems under Uncertainties

Purpose of the Award

This award is the oldest and most prestigious honor for doctoral dissertations in the transportation science and logistics area. 

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Luying Sun, Virginia Tech
2023 Honorable Mention
Jingwei Zhang, University of California, Los Angeles
2022 Winner(s)
Matthias Soppert, Universität der Bundeswehr München
2022 Honorable Mention
Sara Reed
Rolf N. van Lieshout, Erasmus University Rotterdam
2021 First Place
Zhengtian Xu, University of Michigan
2021 Honorable Mention
Sandeep Badrinath, MIT
2020 Winner(s)
Ohad Eisenhandler, Tel Aviv University
2020 Honorable Mention
Alexandre de Macedo Florio, University of Vienna
2019 First Place
Sebastien Martin, MIT Operations Research Center
2019 Honorable Mention
Anirudh Subramanyam, Carnegie Mellon University
2018 Winner(s)
Maximilian Schiffer , RWTH Aachen
2018 Honorable Mention
Chiwei Yan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2017 Winner(s)
Mehdi Behroozi, University of Minnesota
2017 Honorable Mention
Marlin Ulmer, Technische Universitat Braunschweig
Jelmer Pier van der Gaast, Erasmus University
2016 First Place
Anh Tien Mai, University of Montreal
Christian Vad Karsten, Technical University of Denmark
2015 First Place
Alexandre Jacquillat, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2014 First Place
Samiul Hasan, Purdue University
2014 Honorable Mention
Frank Fischer, Chemnitz University of Technology
2013 First Place
Max Klimm, Technische Universität Berlin
2013 Honorable Mention
Dimitri Papageorgiou, Georgia Institute of Technology
2012 First Place
Jon Petersen, Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 First Place
Jessica Heier Stamm, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
2011 Honorable Mention
Ilaria Vacca, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
2010 First Place
Irina Dolinskaya, University of Michigan
2009 First Place
Gitakrishnan Ramadurai, RPI
2009 Honorable Mention
Pavithra Harsha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Adrian Lee, University of Illimois at Urbana-Champaign
2008 First Place
Emma Frejinger, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
2007 First Place
Juan Carlos Morales, Georgia Institute of Technology
2007 Honorable Mention
Zhou Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
2006 First Place
Christian Liebchen, Technical University of Berlin
2006 Honorable Mention
Anne Goodchild, University of California at Berkeley
2005 First Place
Luigi Moccia, Universita della Calabria, Italy
2005 Honorable Mention
Song Gao , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 First Place
Lawrence Snyder , Northwestern University
2004 Honorable Mention
Miguel Figliozzi , University of Maryland
2003 First Place
Thomas Vossen , University of Colorado - Boulder, Leeds School of Business
2003 Honorable Mention
Tomer Toledo , Massachusetts Institute Of Technology
2002 First Place
Iris F.A. Vis , Erasmus Universiteit
Alvin C. Lim, Johns Hopkins University
2001 First Place
Alan Erera , Georgia Institute of Technology School of Industrial & Systems Eng
Joan Walker , Boston University
2001 Honorable Mention
Andrew Armacost, United States Air Force Academy
Jon Bottom, MIT
2000 First Place
Diego Klabjan , Georgia Institute of Technology
Hillel Bar-Gera, University of Illinois at Chicago
1999 First Place
Padma Ramanujan
1999 Honorable Mention
William D. Hall, CitationShares
Nicola Secomandi, University of Houston
1998 First Place
Gianpaolo Ghiani
1998 Honorable Mention
Robert Hoffman
1997 First Place
Gregory Glockner , Dwaffler
Sarah Stock Patterson, Duke University
1997 Honorable Mention
Kalidas Ashok
1996 First Place
Tassio Carvalho, Princeton University
1996 Honorable Mention
Chris Caplice, MIT
1995 First Place
Bernard Gendron , Universite de Montreal
1994 First Place
Srinivas Peeta , Purdue University
1993 Honorable Mention
Raymond Cheung, Hong Kong University Rekha Pellai
1992 Awardee(s)
Julien Bramel, School of Engineering and Applied Science
Columbia University
1991 Awardee(s)
Linos Frantzeskakis
1989 Awardee(s)
Jeffrey McGill, Queen's University
1988 Awardee(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management and Operations Research Center
1987 Awardee(s)
Matteo Fischetti
1986 Awardee(s)
Shoshana Anily, Tel Aviv University
1985 Awardee(s)
Patrick Jaillet , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1984 Awardee(s)
Anataram Balakrishnan
1982 Awardee(s)
Charles Aikens
1981 Awardee(s)
James B. Orlin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Warren Powell, Princeton University
1980 Awardee(s)
Christian Lardinois
1979 Awardee(s)
Tom Sexton
1979 Honorable Mention
H. Aashtiani F. Soumis
1978 Awardee(s)
Harilaos Psaraftis, Dynamic Programming Algorithms for Sequencing and Routing Problems in Transportation
1978 Honorable Mention
Yosef Sheffi
1977 Awardee(s)
David Stein
1977 Honorable Mention
S.E. Erikson S.Rao
1976 Awardee(s)
Roger Dear
1976 Honorable Mention
Bruce L. Golden, University of Maryland, Robert H. Smith School of Business
1975 Honorable Mention
Phillip E. Taylor Alan Black
1974 Awardee(s)
Timothy J. Tardiff
1973 Awardee(s)
Robert Richardson
1973 Honorable Mention
Moshe Ben-Akiva, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1971 Awardee(s)
Slobodan Mitric
1971 Honorable Mention
Kent L. Groninger Theodore E. Keeler
1970 Awardee(s)
Nathan Gartner
1970 Honorable Mention
Eduardo Aldana-Valdes, Universidad de Los Andes