WORMS Family Care Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The WORMS Family Care Award will partially reimburse recipients for up to $200 in costs associated with care for children age 12 years or younger traveling with a parent who is participating in the INFORMS Annual Meeting.  Approximately five grants will be awarded each year, with the exact number depending on available budget.


Recipients must be current members of the Forum on Women in OR/MS (WORMS) who are officially participating in the INFORMS Annual Meeting, including giving an oral or poster presentation, acting as session chair or participating in the Combined Colloquia. 

Eligibility is limited to current students, post-doctoral associates or early career professionals (e.g. junior faculty or professionals in their first five years of post-graduate employment) who are the parent or guardian of a child age 12 years or younger who is also traveling to the conference. 

Up to $200 in expenses will be reimbursed upon submittal of receipts to INFORMS staff to cover costs such as travel (transportation, accommodation or meals) for the child, travel (transportation, accommodation or meals) for the child’s caregiver, or payment of childcare services or suitable day-camp program in the conference environs.   

At most one grant will be awarded per family, and priority will be given to those who have never received the award in prior years.

Childcare must be arranged by the parents.  INFORMS and WORMS are not responsible for identifying caregivers and are not liable for any damages.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines 

Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Zlatana Nenova, University of Denver Ayesha Farooq, Kansas State University Kayse Maass, University of Michigan Student Chapter Hongli Ye, Clemson University
2022 Winner(s)
Sandra Buzón, Texas A&M University Shubhi Asthana, IBM Research
2021 Winner(s)
Sogand Sabahfar , Kansas State University
Zhijie Dong, Texas State University
2017 Winner(s)
Zhijie Dong, Texas State University Yueran Zhuo, University of Massachusetts Amherst Yaarit Even, Columbia University Umit Deniz Tursun, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Irem Sengul Orgut, Lenovo
2016 Awardee(s)
Michelle McGaha Alvarado, Texas A&M University Student Chapter Ying Cao Hoda Atef Yekta