INFORMS Fellows: Class of 2012

Guillermo Gallego
Columbia University

For contributions to revenue management and inventory theory that have provided new insights and effective methods for problem-solving, and for compelling leadership at Columbia University and in the profession.

Bezalel Gavish
Southern Methodist University

For pioneering work in the application of operations research and management sciences in the field of telecommunications, and for his contributions to the fields of information systems, production management, and transportation.

Daniel Granot
University of British Columbia

For groundbreaking research that has opened significant pathways of inquiry within the fields of cooperative games and supply chain management  and for his service to the University of British Columbia and INFORMS society. 

Patrick T. Harker
University of Delaware

For remarkable leadership at the organizations he leads, and for his contributions to the theory of variational inequalities and his editorial services to INFORMS.

Michael N. Katehakis
Rutgers University

For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of operations research in the areas of dynamic programming and data-driven analytics.

Karl G. Kempf
Intel Corporation

For the effective promotion of operations research and management sciences in key high-technology industries, and for contributions to robotics, production scheduling, supply chain management and product development.

Ramayya Krishnan
Carnegie Mellon University 

For leadership and innovation in academia and in practice, as well as leadership in INFORMS, linking operations research and management sciences with information systems in research, education, and management.

Richard P. O'Neill

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

For contributions in developing and applying optimization to improve the efficiency of the electricity and natural gas markets, and for effective advocacy of the use of optimization to operate energy markets.

Rakesh Kumar Sarin
University of California, Los Angeles 

For advancing decision-analysis theories and methodologies through editorial services and research focusing on multiple attribute decisions, measurable value functions, risk perception, descriptive choice models, fairness, and happiness.

Yves Smeers

Université Catholique de Louvain

For developing theory for predicting the behavior of energy markets, and for contributions to formulating energy policies, including electricity market design in the European Union.

Marius M. Solomon
Northeastern University

For contributions to the development and real-world advancement of OR planning and execution methodologies, and the development of benchmark problems for time-sensitive supply chains, benefiting a variety of economic sectors.

Sridhar Tayur
Carnegie Mellon University

For research on inventories and supply chain management, and developing new methodologies, implementing solutions in manufacturing, logistics and supply chains, and creating a market for enterprise inventory optimization software.