INFORMS Fellows: Class of 2014

Michel Balinski
CNRS and Ecole Polytechnique

For over fifty years of dedication to advancing OR and MS, Mathematics, Economics, and Social Choice Theory, Michel Balinski has established a distinguished record as an outstanding research contributor.

Jonathan Eckstein
Rutgers University

Jonathan Eckstein is a leader in the application of large-scale parallel computing to optimization problems. His contributions lie in both theory and algorithms for discrete and continuous optimization problems, as well as areas of application.

Terry P. Harrison
Pennsylvania State University

For broad-ranging contributions to INFORMS, his university, and the profession, including contributions as INFORMS president, editor-in-chief of Interfaces, an Edelman Award finalist, researching in supply chain management, and a Business Week 4-star teacher.

Robert R. Inman
General Motors

For advancing the application of operations research at General Motors through broad and high-impact contributions to applied supply chain, manufacturing, vehicle sales, service, and dealer inventory management.

Radhika Kulkarni
SAS Institute, Inc.

For contributions to practice, management, and education through development, dissemination, and widespread application of operations research and analytics software for solving business problems, and for service to the profession.

Russell P. Labe, Jr.
Bank of America

Russell P. Labe, Jr is a consummate OR practitioner, having led extraordinarily successful Analytics groups at Merrill Lynch and Bank of America, and providing exemplary service to the practice community within INFORMS.

Steve Nahmias
Santa Clara University

For his outstanding research contributions to the fields of perishable inventory theory and repairable inventory theory and significant contribution to education through his textbook on Production and Operations Analysis.

Robert L. Phillips
Columbia University 

For pioneering applications and professional leadership in the area of revenue management and pricing.

Nikolaos Sahinidis
Carnegie Mellon University

For outstanding theoretical and computational contributions that have changed the way optimization is practiced across science, engineering, and financial decision making.

Tuomas Sandholm
Carnegie Mellon University

For contributions to research in computational economics, including market design, combinatorial auctions, and game theory, and for contributions to practice through companies that create new markets using optimization methods.

J. George Shanthikumar
Purdue University

For contributions to stochastic models and systems, and related applications.

Candace A. Yano
University of California, Berkeley

Professor Candace (“Candi”) Yano of UC Berkeley is a leader in operations management research and has provided significant service to the field as program chair, editor, adviser, teacher, and mentor.